Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Faculty & Administrator Papers

Allen L. Richardson Papers, 1937-2006

Collection Summary

Allen L. Richardson Papers, 1937-2006

Collection Number: CA-50002
Collection Size: 2.10 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The Allen L. Richardson papers are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed, and divided into two series (1. Personal Papers, 2. Music).

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Biography

Allen Lyndon Richardson was born in Potsdam, New York on May 3, 1920. He graduated from Potsdam High School in 1937 and received his Bachelor of Science in Education from the State Normal School at Potsdam in 1941. Following graduation he briefly worked for Perry Public Schools in New York as Director of Instrumental Music. He served in the United States Army Air Forces (USAAF) from 1942 to 1946.

In 1947 he received his Master of Science degree from Syracuse University. Following graduation he worked as an editor first for the Boston Music Company and then for the Willis Music Company. He was an associate professor at the State University College at Potsdam from 1953-1959, and returned to teach as a professor in 1966. He continued to teach at Potsdam until about 1981. He served on the boards of both the Alumni Association and Crane Alumni Association while at Potsdam, and was recipient of the Minerva Achievement Award in 1965.

Richardson authored several books, including method books and other music books. He co-authored a two volume series with Mary E. English called “Living with Music”. He also composed and arranged music for choral groups, piano, and other instruments, and had many pieces of music published. Allen Richardson died at the age of 85 on February 20, 2006.

Scope and Content

Series consists of biographical information, articles, correspondence, photographs, speeches and writings by Richardson, and several diplomas. There is also a class ring from the Potsdam Normal School. These documents cover a wide range of dates, from 1937 to 2004, and outline various points of Allen L. Richardson’s professional life.

This series comprises the bulk of this collection, and consists primarily of written music. Many of the pieces are undated, but the majority of the dated pieces are from the 1950s or 1990s. The series includes published scores and sheet music, as well as handwritten and typed drafts of pieces which were either written or arranged by Allen L. Richardson. Some contain parts for several instruments or voices. Several pieces of music were published under one of two pseudonyms used by Allen L. Richardson: Bea Woode or Lyn Sanford. Several of these folders also contain other documents including but not limited to correspondence and performance programs.

Additional music materials include published music books and a cassette tape. There are several books for instruction on the recorder, choral books, and a children’s book. In addition there are two volumes authored in collaboration with Mary E. English.

Container Listing

Series 1. Personal Papers
Box Folder Description Dates
1 1 Biographical Information, 1969
  2 Articles, 1953-2006
  3 Correspondence, 1981-1996
  4 Speeches, 1972
  5 Writings and Presentations, 1972, 1975
  6 Photographs, undated, 2004
  7 High School Diploma, 1937
  8 Potsdam Diplomas and Awards, 1941, 1988
  9 Miscellaneous Items, 1949-1978
4   Class Ring, Potsdam Normal School, undated
Series 2. Music

Subseries 1. Printed Music and Published Books
Box Folder Description Dates
2 1 Living With Music, Vol. 1, 1956
  2 Living With Music, Vol. 2, 1958
  3 Harmonic Method for Recorders: “C” Book, 1955
  4 Harmonic Method for Recorders: “F” Book, 1955
  5 Harmonic Method for Recorders: Combined Book, 1955
  6 Patterns in Song, 1956
2 7 Sing We Now of Christmas, undated
  8 Tooters, Tweeter, Strings and Beaters, 1964
  9 Tooters, Tweeter, Strings and Beaters, 1953
  10 Pastische Cassette Tape, undated
Subseries 2. Handwritten Music
Box Folder Description Dates
3 1 Adagio: The Swan Violin - Alto Sax, undated
  2 Allmand, undated
  3 Alto Recorder Originals, 2001
  4 America, the Beautiful, undated
  5 An Old-Fashioned Christmas, undated
  6 Aquarelle, 1953
  7 Bach Invention IX, undated
  8 Ballad for the Little Jesu, undated
  9 Be With Me: Anniversary Song, 1993
4 2 Big Note Pieces, 1950
3 10 Bless the Lord, O my Soul, 1952
  11 Blowing in the Wind, undated
  12 Blues in Retrospect, 1972, 1993
  13 Blue Skies, undated
  14 Bright and Cheery Christmas, 1964
  15 Canzon, undated
  16 Casper, Melchior, and Balthazar, undated
  17 Christ Was Born of Mary Free, undated
  18 Clair de Lune, undated
  19 Come Back to Sorrento, 1952
  20 Dark Water, 1952
  21 The Entertainer, undated
  22 Friddle Frolic: A Collection of Fiddle Tunes, undated
  23 Flippety Doodle, undated
  24 General Grant's Grand March, 1950
  25 A Gnome from Nome, 1950
  26 God Bless America, undated
  27 Golliwog's Cakewalk, undated
  28 Hallelujah Chorus, undated
  29 Hearts and Flowers, 1950
  30 He is Risen, 1991
  31 Hong Kong Chopsticks, 1993
  32 Hosanna to Our King, 1983
  33 How Do I Love Thee, 1952
4 1 I Left My Heart in San Francisco, undated
3 34 Kentucky Babe, 1955
3 35 Kind and Gentle Star, undated
  36 Let Your Will Be Done, undated
  37 Little Donkey, 1988
  38 The Little Shepherd, undated
4 3 Mass in Honor of Saint Mary, 1982
3 39 Medley of Stars of the Summer Night and Blue Skies, undated
  40 Memory, undated
  41 Miscellaneous Written Music, undated, 1992, 1993
  42 Mother At Your Feet is Kneeling, 1952
  43 Musetta's Waltz, 1953
  44 Narcissus, 1950
  45 The Nightingale Has A Lyre of Gold, 1952
  46 Now let every tongue adore Thee, 1952
  47 Ode to Christmas, undated
  48 On Top of Old Smokey, 1951
  49 Open the Gates of the Temple, 1950
  50 Open the Gates of the Temple, 1952
  51 The Palms, 1952
  52 Panis Angelicus, 1951
  53 Pastiche, Folder 1, 1994
  54 Pastiche, Folder 2, undated
  55 Pastiche, Folder 3, 1994
  56 Pastiche, Folder 4, 1993
  57 Pennies from Heaven, undated
  58 People Look East, undated
  59 The Perfect Gift, 1992
  60 Potpourri, undated
  61 Praise to the Holliest, 1993
  62 Preamble to the Constitution, 1950
  63 Psalm of Life, 1989
  64 Ring, Silver Bells, 1991
  65 The Rosary, 1955
  66 Santa's Song, 1959
  67 Serve the Lord, 1998
4 4 Shenandoah, undated
3 68 Silver Bells, undated
4 5 A Somerset Carol, 1952, 1993
3 69 Song for Easter, undated
  70 A Song of Love, 1993
  71 The Statue of Liberty, undated
  72 The Stranger of Galilee, 1950
  73 A Summer Friend, 1993
  74 Tamale Joe, 1996
3 75 Till There Was You, undated
  76 Tomfoolery, 1992
  77 Tooters, Tweeters, Strings and Beaters, 1973
  78 Two Scottish Tunes, 1950
  79 Until the Real Thing Comes Along, undated
  80 Walk Hand In Hand, undated
  81 Whispering Hope, 1954
  82 Why Do the Bells of Christmas Ring?, undated

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617