Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Faculty & Administrator Papers

Paul A. Steinberg Papers, 1972-2011

Collection Summary

Paul A. Steinberg papers, 1972-2011

Collection Number: CA-50004
Collection Size: 2.7 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The Paul Steinberg papers are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed, and comprises two series (Written Music & Audio Recordings).

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Biography

Paul A. Steinberg was a professor at the Crane School of Music at the State University of New York at Potsdam. He was also the director of the Center for New Music Resources at Potsdam. He received degrees from New Mexico State University, Southern Methodist University, and the University of Oklahoma. He studied as a woodwind doubler under names such as Warner Hutchison, Alvin Epstein, Thom Mason and Michael Hennagin.

Steinberg received many awards for his compositions. His works typically combined various woodwind instruments, as well as acoustical and electronic media.

In 1982 he helped establish a group called then New and Unusual Music Artists. In 2012 he and Dr. Alan Woy, a colleague, formed a group called "Symbiotta." The pair released a CD also titled "Symbiotta.”

Scope and Content

This series comprises the bulk of this collection, and consists primarily of written music. Many of the pieces are undated, but the majority of the dated pieces are from the1972- 2011. The series includes published scores and sheet music, as well as handwritten and typed drafts of pieces which were either written or arranged by Paul Steinberg. Some contain parts for several instruments or voices.

Additional music materials include audio recordings of a few of Steinberg’s compositions; they come in the form of CD-Rs and reel-to-reel audiotape.

Container Listing

Series 1. Written Music.
Box Folder Description Dates
3   #1, undated
1 1 An Aura for Lennie, undated
  2 A Bagel for Paul, undated
Oversized A Bagel for Paul, undated
1 3 Cadenza, undated
  4 The Camel; The Turtle; The Mouse, undated
  5 Contrasts I, 1982
  6 Contrasts II, undated
  7 Decaloop, undated
  8 Diachrony, 1977
  9 Dialogue for Three, undated
3   Dialogue for Three, undated
1 10 Diversions, 1980
  11 Dodecamusik, undated
  12 Dreamers, 1968
  13 Ebonata, 1978
  14 Elegy for Ray & Dale, 1989
  15 Envelopes, 1982
3   Envelopes, 1982
1 16 Five Fragments for Trombone & Tape, 1978
  17 Five Haiku, undated
3   Five Haiku, undated
1 18 Gennie's Revenge, 1994
  19 A Harrier’s Odyssey, 2009
  20 HeXad, undated
4   Improvisation, 1975
1 21 Introduction, Boogie & Fughetto 2008
  22 Journeys January 4, 1992
  23 Kaliedoscope, May 2010
3   Kaliedoscope, May 2010
1 24 The Kitty Cat Bird, undated
  25 Klezmer Rhapsody, 1995
3   Lament for A Poet, undated
1 26 Mending the Circle, 2001
3   A Mercedes Collage, undated
    Microelectroecho, 1994
1 27 A Minature Octatonic Cocktail, 2008
  28 A Mitzvah for Mike and Meme, 1996
  29 Musica De La Noche, 2002
  30 My Car Slides Off The Road, undated
  31 Odyssey, 1972
3   Odyssey, 1972
1 32 OOOPPPS!!!!! undated
  33 Orchestral Refractions, 1973
3   Orchestral Refractions 1973
1 34 Pacific 231, 1977
Oversized Pacific 231, 1977
1 35 Peace, undated
  36 Polychromes, undated
3   Polychromes, undated
Oversized Polychromes, undated
4   Prism, 1975
1 37 P.S. 96 Manhattan, 1972
  38 Quincunx, 1978
  39 Quintet for Winds, 1991
  40 Reflections, undated
2 1 Saratoga Concertino, undated
  2 Sax Notes, 1998
  3 Six Haiku, 2007
  4 Six Moods, 2001
  5 Soliloquy, 1974
4   Soliloquy, 1974
2 6 A Song for Chris, 1998
  7 Suffolk Concerto, undated
4   Synergy, 1989
2 8 Synchrony, undated
  9 The Taxi, undated
  10 Three Contrasts, 1995
  11 Three Songs On Texts, 1975
4   Three Songs on Texts, 1975
2 12 Triplicity, 2011
  13 Trittico, undated
4   Troika, undated
2 14 Uninterrupted Suite, 1986
4   Untitled, undated
2 15 Very Salty Peanuts, 1987
4   Very Salty Peanuts, 1987
2 16 The Visit, 1968
  17 When I'm Sixty-Four, undated
  18 Wild Women Blues, undated
Oversized Wind & Water, 2004
  19 Zia Suite, undated
Series 2. Audio Recordings.
Box Folder Description Dates
5   CD-R - Envelopes, 1982
    CD-R - Prism, 1975
    CD-R - Synergy, 1989
    Reel-to-reel Audiotape - #1, undated
    Reel-to-reel Audiotape – Journeys, 1992
    Reel-to-reel Audiotape – The Kitty Kat Bird, undated
    Reel-to-reel Audiotape – Troika, undated

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617