Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Manuscript Collections

Edwin A. Merritt Letters, 1881-1885

Collection Summary

Edwin A. Merritt Letters, 1881-1885

Collection Number: SC-90003
Collection Size: 0.4 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The Edwin A. Merritt Letters are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed.

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Biography

Edwin Atkins Merritt was born in 1828 to Nodiah and Relief Merritt. After moving to Northern New York Merritt took classes at the St. Lawrence Academy, and worked a variety of jobs including teaching and serveying. In 1859 Merritt was elected to the New York State Assembly.

Merritt served in the Union Army during the American Civil War, and eventually served as the Quartermast General of New York. From 1871-1881 Merritt served as the Collector of the Port of New York, and served as the U.S. Consul General in London from 1881-1885.

As a member of the St. Lawrence Academy Board of Trustees, Merritt played a significant role in the locating of a Normal School in Potsdam.

Scope and Content

The collection contains two ledgers of bound ledgers that contain copies of Merritt's personal letters from his time as the US Consul General in London. The letters are handwritten on onion-skin paper and each ledger contains five-hundred sheets of paper.

Of potential interest, Julia Crane accompanied Merritt's family to London, and there are a number of letters written to members of the Crane family from Merritt.

Container Listing

Box Description Dates
1 Ledger no. 1 - Private Letters, 1881-1883
1 Ledger no. 2 - Private Letters, 1883-1885

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617