History: Russia/USSR: Primary Sources

This link does a search of BearCat for collections of primary sources on Russian/Soviet history:

• History of the Soviet Union (University of East Anglia)
  Primary sources translated to English. See esp. "Documents" and "Links"
• Stalin and the rise of Soviet totalitarianism
  The list contains many useful links; beware: not all lead to primary source documents, and some are aimed at high school classes. This site is especially rich in links to collections of posters and photographs
• Women in World History: Primary Sources: Russia
  
• Library of Congress: Revelations from the Russian Archives
• English-Language Primary Sources for the Study of Soviet History
  This is a bibliography of resources from Harvard University. The call numbers listed refer to Harvard's holdings, not Potsdam's! This is a great resource for identifying primary source documents. Please check BearCat before placing an ILL request.
• WWW-Virtual Library: Russian History: Sources
• Russian History Resources (Bucknell)
  Note: This site is a deep listing of sites on various topics within Russian History. While sites linked to may contain primary sources, this is primarily a resource guide to Russian History sites online.
• REESWeb - The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Russian & East European Studies - a portal for internet resources on Russian, Soviet, post-Soviet and East European Studies
• Cold War International History Project - a digital collection of documents, many from the Soviet Union.
  

Some of the terms used in library catalogs for collections of primary source documents:

SOURCES - this is the most general term used for a collection of primary documents of various kinds, or a guide to locating primary sources. Example catalog search: russia history sources

PERSONAL NARRATIVES - a general subject heading for first-hand accounts

CORRESPONDENCE - collections of letters

DIARIES

DESCRIPTION AND TRAVEL

ARCHIVES - This usually leads to guides or directories of archival collecrtions. Example catalog search: new york state archives

PAMPHLETS

CONTROVERSIAL LITERATURE

PUBLIC OPINION

Books and articles may also reproduce primary sources, either as appendixes or within the text. And they may be excellent sources for learning about what primary sources are known to exist.