Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 100 - Idea and Image - Mary Jo McNamara: Reference Works

Art Encyclopedias

You will be expected to consult one or both of the following reference works for your speeches.  We do not have online equivalents for these, so if you are an on-campus student, you must come in to the Crumb Library and look for them in the reference section on the first floor to the right of the stairs.  The call numbers are in the records below.

If AND ONLY IF you are taking this class remotely and will not be able to come to the library, you may look for information through the electronic collection of reference sources called Gale ebooks.

What is a reference work?

  • Written by experts for a general audience
  • Brief overview/background level information
  • Excellent place to start when you don't know much. 
  • Good place to collect vocabulary for more in-depth searching
  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, statistics, ... are examples of reference materials

Dictionary of Art

This work is newer than the classic listed in the right hand box, but it does not replace the older work.  Depending upon your artist/work/timeperiod/etc, you may find better information in the older work.  Check both.

Encyclopedia of World Art

This classic encyclopedia is older than the work listed in the right hand box, but it contains material that the newer item does not.  Depending upon your artist/work/timeperiod/etc, you may find better information in the newer work.  Check both.

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617