Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Faculty & Administrator Papers

Frederick W. Crumb Family Papers, 1886-1966

Collection Summary

Frederick W. Crumb Family Papers, 1886-1966

Collection Number: CA-50007
Collection Size: 3.1 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The Frederick W. Crumb family papers are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed, and divided into two series (1. Correspondence 2. Family Documents & Memorabilia).

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Biographical

Frederick W. Crumb was born in Watervliet, NY on April 20, 1909. He attended the State College for Teachers at Albany, and later Columbia University Teachers College. He was married to Doris Arnold of Wellsville, NY, who was also a graduate of the New York State College for Teachers. Crumb served in the United States Army from 1942 to 1946 as a lieutenant colonel in the Education Branch, including service in Washington, D.C., the Pacific Ocean area, West Indies, and Europe.

In 1946 joined Potsdam as President of the College. Crumb served as president of the college from 1946 until his death in 1967.

Scope and Content

This series is divided into two subseries. The first consists of personal correspondence between Frederick W. Crumb and his wife during the period of 1942-1945. The bulk of the correspondence is from 1943 and 1944. The second subseries contains correspondence between various members of the Crumb family and miscellaneous persons spanning the dates from 1932 to 1966. In addition, there is a small amount of financial correspondence from 1942 to 1945, which consists of telephone, electricity, and other bills and receipts.

This series contains several types of documents that pertain to Frederick W. Crumb and his family. There is a collection of newspapers and articles. Another group of documents consists of several yearbooks and a scrapbook. In addition, there is a collection of miscellaneous documents that relate to a variety of places and subjects, including pamphlets from the World War II era, arithmetic workbooks, and event programs from SUNY Potsdam.

Beyond these documents there is also a collection of photographs, including several loose photographs and a larger bound album. In addition, there is a metal box filled with various items of memorabilia, including articles, brochures, postcards, letters, report cards, photographs, and other items. Finally, there is a collection of award certificates from various times and events.

Container Listing

Series 1. Correspondence
Subseries A. Personal Correspondence
Box Folder Description Dates
1 1 Personal Correspondence, Feb. 25, 1940-Nov. 25, 1942
  2 Personal Correspondence, Nov. 26-Dec. 8, 1942
  3 Personal Correspondence, Dec. 9, 1942-Jan. 6, 1943
  4 Personal Correspondence, Jan. 7-Jan. 21, 1943
  5 Personal Correspondence, Jan. 22-Feb. 11, 1943
  6 Personal Correspondence, Feb. 12-March 12, 1943
  7 Personal Correspondence, March 13-April 26, 1943
  8 Personal Correspondence, April 27-June 13, 1943
  9 Personal Correspondence, June 14-July 20, 1943
  10 Personal Correspondence, July 21-Dec. 2, 1943
  11 Personal Correspondence, Mar. 29, 1944-April 19, 1944
  12 Personal Correspondence, April 20-May 4, 1944
  13 Personal Correspondence, May 5-May 23, 1944
2 1 Personal Correspondence, May 24-July 15, 1944
  2 Personal Correspondence, Aug. 18, 1945-Oct. 18, 1945
  3 Personal Correspondence, undated
Subseries B. Miscellaneous Correspondence
Box Folder Description Dates
2 4 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1932-1942
  5 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1943
  6 Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1944-1966
  7 Miscellaneous Correspondence, undated
  8 Financial Correspondence, 1942-1945
Series 2. Family Documents & Memorabilia
Box Folder Description Dates
2 9 Articles, 1986
  10 Yearbooks, 1961
  11 Miscellaneous Documents, undated
  12 Photographs, undated
3   Photograph Album, undated
    Memorabilia Box, undated
4   Awards Certificates (8), 1886-1942, undated

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617