College Libraries: History: Modern America: Finding articles

Finding articles

If you have a topic, and are searching for articles, use the search tools in the box at the right.

If you have a full article citation, you can find out if it is available by checking our "Periodical Title Search". This will tell you whether the article is available in paper or online. It also links to InterLibrary Loan if the article is not available here.

Most article search tools have an "Article Linker" button - - to perform a check for local availability. When you click this button, you will learn if the article is here in paper or online; or it will provide a link to Interlibrary loan if it is not.

There are separate search tools for newspaper articles: consider if they would be appropriate for your topic.

Bibliographies are lists of publications organized by topic. See this pages for suggestions about finding and using bibliographies in U.S. history

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers digitizations of complete back runs of significant journals in many fields.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. (Nov 2016)

Google Scholar
A Google tool which searches the web for "scholarly" content. Includes government & NGO papers as well as the tables of contents of most scholarly journals. Look for the "Full-Text @ SUNY Potsdam" to access content held digitally by the College Libraries.
History Cooperative
A nonprofit humanities resource offering top-level online history scholarship. Some journals available in full-text online.

Arts & Humanities Search
1,150 arts and humanities journals and relevant items from over 7,000 other journals. Cited reference searching as well as subject keyword.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Indexes some 700 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines - U.S. and international; for the period 1969 to 1990
more...less...
You can search this with Alt Press Index (1991-present) if you choose

HLAS - Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Latin American issues in 1,500+ social sciences and humanities journals worldwide, as well as dissertations, conference proceedings, and monographs.

America: History and Life
This is the most comprehensive abstracting index to articles, books, and theses on North American history. On paper for the years 1964 -1998 at Ref E 171.A1 A48