History: Canada: Primary Sources

Call numbers refer to locations in Crumb Library

• Public Archives Canada: Report, (F1001 .C13) 1959-1977
• Documents on relations between Canada and Newfoundland. (JX 351 .D62)
• Records relating to Indian affairs (RG 10). (Ref CD 3638 1975)
• Historical records of the Government of Canada : Federal Archives Division. (Ref CD 3626 1983)
• Canadian government publications; monthly catalogue. (Ref Z 1373 .C22) 1961-1978.
• Documents on the confederation of British North America. 1969 (J 161.B78)
• The confederation debates in the Province of Canada/1865. 1963 (F 1032.C26)
• Documents on Canadian external relations. 1967- (JX 1515.A25)
• Documents on Canadian foreign policy, 1917-1939. 1962 (F 1034.R55)
• Acts of the Parliament of Canada. (KE.C212St) 1966-1979.

These include selected documents and papers of historical interest. The term used in the catalog to describe these is usually "Sources". For ex, "Canada History Sources" as a Subject Heading search will turn up many compilations of primary sources. Some examples

• Historical Statistics of Canada 1965 (Ref HA 746.U7)
• Canadian Historical Documents series. - 1 (F 1033.B88 and F 1030.N65).
• Documents on Canadian Foreign Policy, 1917-1939. (F 1034.R55)
• Canada and its Provinces, 1958-1966. (G 1116.S1M6)
• Record of our History. (F 1030.V5)
• Histoire du Canada par les textes..(F1026 .B895 1963)
• A collection of several commissions, and other public instruments, proceeding from His Majesty's royal authority, and other papers, relating to the state of the Province in Quebec in North America. (F 1032 .M395 1772a)
• First people, first voices. (E 78.C2 F49 1983)
• A Source-book of Canadian history. (F 1026.R44 1964)
• see also the Series - Documents in Canadian history, and Public Archives Canada. (in BearCat)

A selection of documents. Call numbers are for locations in Crumb Library

• Adventure in the wilderness; the American journals of Louis Antoine de Bougainville, 1756-1760 (E 199 .B72)
• My Father's Son : memories of war and peace. by Farley Mowat (D 811 .M684 1992)
• Canadian Diaries and Autobiographies. (Ref CT 284.A1 M3 1950)
• Union list of manuscripts in Canadian repositories. (Ref CD 3622.A2 U54 1975)
• With Burgoyne from Quebec: an account of the life at Quebec and of the famous battle at Saratoga. 1963 (E 233.A6)
• The Net in the Bay. 1854 (F 1060.8.A54 1967)
• The Englishwoman in America 1856 (E 166.B62 1966)
• The Canadas in 1841. 2 Volumes. 1841 (F 1013.B70 1968)
• Adventure in the Wilderness; the American journals of Louis Antoine de Bougainville, 1756-1760 1964 (E 199.B72)
• Indian Treaties and Surrenders from 1680 to 1902 , 3 Volumes 1891-1912 (E 92.C2)
• Early Travellers in the Canadas, 1791-1867. 1955 (F 1013.C79)
• Memoires - Philippe A. de Gasp (F 1032.G3 1966)
• Travels and adventures in Canada , by Alexander Henry 1966 (F 1013.H521809a)
• The America of 1750; Peter Kalm's travels in North America 2 Volumes 1966 (E 162.K166)
• The French regime 1965 (F 1030.N65)
• Letters from America, 1776-1779 being letters of Brunswick, Hessian, and Waldeck officers with the British armies during the Revolution (E 268.P52 1964)
• Five year's residence in the Canadas by Edward Allen Talbot (F 1008.T13 1968)
• The French tradition in America 1969 (F 1030.Z6 1969b)
• Canada and the Canadian question 1891 (F 1027.S64)
• Life and letters of Sir William Laurier 2 Volumes. 1965 (F 1033.L386 1965)
• Robert Laird Borden: his memoirs 2 Volumes 1938 (F 1033.B76)
• The MacKenzie King record 4 Volumes 1960-70 (F 1033.K53P5)
• The Wretched of Canada: letters to R.B. Bennett, 1930-1935 1971 (HC 120.P6G7)
• Speaking of Canada: addresses, 1952-1959 , by Vincent Massey 1959 (F 1008.M3)
• Letters from America , by Rupert Brooke 1916 (F 1015.B87)
• My Canadian journal, 1872-78 by the Marchioness of Dufferin 1891 (F 1015.D85)
• Ocean to ocean: Stanford Fleming's expedition through Canada in 1872 1873 (F 1015.F63)

Some of the terms used in library catalogs for collections of primary source documents:

SOURCES - this is the most general term used for a collection of primary documents of various kinds, or a guide to locating primary sources. Example catalog search: canada history sources

PERSONAL NARRATIVES - a general subject heading for first-hand accounts

CORRESPONDENCE - collections of letters

DIARIES

DESCRIPTION AND TRAVEL

ARCHIVES - This usually leads to guides or directories of archival collecrtions. Example catalog search: new york state archives

PAMPHLETS

CONTROVERSIAL LITERATURE

PUBLIC OPINION

Books and articles may also reproduce primary sources, either as appendixes or within the text. And they may be excellent sources for learning about what primary sources are known to exist.

Writing and illustrations in periodicals are important historical artifacts. Wide circulation magazines in England date from around the end of the 17th century. Examples to be found in Crumb Library are:

• Maclean's. (AP 5 .M2) 1984- date.
• North (Dept. of Indian Affairs and Northern Development), 1966-1985. (F 1001.C124)
• The Canada Year Book. 1908- (some years lacking) (HA 744 .S81 1908 - ) latest 3 years are in Reference

Indexes to the contents of magazines came much later. Listed here are indexes which cover popular interest and news magazines (rather than professional historical journals), which enable you to look for articles by subject:

• Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. 1890-date (Ref.AI 3.R48)
• Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. 1802-1881 (Ref.AI 3.P7)
• Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals. 1824-1900 (Ref AI 3.W45)