History: Africa: Articles

A list of print and electronic journals held by the College Libraries.

Produced by the Library of Congress, 750 journal titles have been indexed which are acquired regularly from 29 African countries...

"African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals." Includes some full text.

The African Studies Centre is an independent scientific institute in the Netherlands that undertakes social-science research on Africa. They have a searchable database plus two online bibliographies: Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa; and Kenya Coast Handbook.

A gateway to African research information and materials produced worldwide maintained by the African Studies Center. A lot of the content is in English, with links to full text. Abstracts are in Dutch.

An index with abstracts of articles. Issues are pdf documents, published approx. quarterly, 2003-date

Sabinet is a retrospective digitization project of full-text journal articles published in Africa, in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. Most journals are fairly current 1980's-2000's. Searching is tricky and sometimes the database doesn't work, but there is good content there. Try Browsing journals instead. E.g. Africa Insight (1980-1997)

Maintained by Stanford University.

Maintained by Stanford University

Includes a directory of journals and a digital archive.

Books borrowed through Potsdam must be picked up in Potsdam. Most articles are delivered online, through your ILLiad account