College Libraries: Watertown area classes: Reference

Reference sources - what are they?

Materials which are referred to for brief or general information. Examples include:

Background or overview synopses (encyclopedia)
Definitions (dictionary)
Synonyms (thesaurus)
Statistics
Biographical Details
Maps (atlas)

Reference sources - how to search them

Reference resources are organized in an order that aids searching (alphabetically, chronologically, etc). Most include an index which points users to the appropriate section. Tips for searching:

Decide on your search terms
Try searching with them
If not satisfied with the results, try searching a synonym or related idea

Things to watch out for:

Is the computer searching only the title/header of the entries or the full-text of the information? You will get more results, but more of them will be irrelabent if you are searching the full-text.
Are you searching for a proper noun (name, place,...)? Make sure that the spelling is correct and try variations if it originated in a foreign language.
Searching for something by date? This is trickier than it sounds. If possible, search for an event name or topic rather than a date, e.g. civil rights movement or hippies or flower children rather than 1960s.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks Online

Selected Education Titles:

Encyclopedia of Education
World Education Encyclopedia
Child Development
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
2007. Research and facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents
Encyclopedia of education and human development

coverage of educational theory and practice from the primary grades through higher education.
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Encyclopedia of language and education

E-book. 2008. About Education, Language Education, Applied Linguistics, Psycholinguistics, Sociolinguistics
Learning and Memory
World Education Report

Child Care & Early Education Research Connections

Child Care & Early Education Research Connections is a research partnership that promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making.

Selected Business Titles:

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Encyclopedia of Management
Management theory and applications
Encyclopedia of Small Business
Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce
International Directory of Business Biographies
Manufacturing and Distribution USA
USASpending.gov
Information on government contracts, grants. etc. Searchable.

...............................................................................

Watertown area classes

Reference sources - what are they?

Reference sources - how to search them

Encyclopedias & Handbooks Online

Contact

Accessibility

Social Media

College Libraries