College Libraries: Open Educational Resources (OER) at SUNY Potsdam: Find OER

Find Open Textbooks

The following resources can be used to locate high quality, peer-reviewed open textbooks in a variety of subject areas. Most of these resources also provide evaluative information about the textbooks they contain, such as faculty reviews, accessibility reviews, and usage statistics.

SUNY Open Textbooks
Containing openly-licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks from the State University of New York, SUNY Open Textbooks provides open textbooks as well as consultation services for faculty interested in adopting or creating OER.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides an easy-to-use interface for locating and evaluating OER. Along with peer-reviewed textbooks, the OTL provides reviews from faculty who have adopted their texts for courses.
OpenStax
OpenStax is one of the most popular OER repositories in use today, and provides textbooks for college as well as high school AP courses.
BCCampus OpenEd
The British Columbia Campus Consortium's OER repository, BCCampus OpenEd collects textbooks from a variety of resources, including the books housed in OpenStax and others.
College Open Textbooks
College Open Textbooks is a repository which contains peer-reviewed textbooks as well as reviews on accessibility. However, its interface is minimal and many texts link to outside resources and repositories.

Find Open Educational Resources

Other open educational resources (syllabi, course handouts, lesson plans, etc) can be found in the following OER repositories. Some, like MERLOT II, contain open textbooks as well as other course materials. Others, like Khan Academy, host live course content and provide users with "badges" to indicate if they have completed a course.

SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt
Over 120 easily customizable already packaged courses on popular topics.
OER Commons
The Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons currently includes open educational materials in broad subject areas. Materials include lesson plans, textbooks, activities, assessments, readings, and more.
MERLOT Communities
Since 1997, MERLOT has been building "a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community."
MIT OpenCourseWare
A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content, OpenCourseWare is open, available globally, and a permanent MIT activity.
Khan Academy
"Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom."
Saylor Academy
Like Khan Academy, Saylor provides freely available online courses and course credit on a variety of subjects. Some of these courses also provide college credit.

Open Educational Resources (OER) at SUNY Potsdam

Find Open Textbooks

Find Open Educational Resources

Contact

Accessibility

Social Media

College Libraries