Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: College Administration & Offices

Special Admissions Programs Records, 1968-2005

Collection Summary

Special Admissions Programs Records, 1968-2005

Collection Number: CA-01015
Collection Size: 0.9 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The Special Admissions Programs records are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections, with the exception of files containing student records which are currently restricted. The collection is minimally processed.

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Institutional History

SUNY Potsdam special admissions programs include the Educational Opportunity Program and the Bridges Program.

The Educational Opportunity Program began at SUNY Potsdam in 1968 (then known as the Expanded Opportunity Program), and was implemented as a special program to provide the opportunity to obtain a college degree to students who might not otherwise be accepted to the college. At the time of it's inception, the EOP largely targeted black students from New York state urban areas, and was responsible for drastically increasing black enrollment at Potsdam.

The Bridges Program was established in 1998 to assist students whodo not meet the normal admission criteria for the college. Students remain enrolled in the Bridges program for their two semesters at Potsdam.

Scope and Content

The Bridges Program records contain a fact sheet of the program, and basic program data that offer an overview of the first five years of the program.

The vast majority of the collection contains materials related to the EOP, and the bulk of those materials are from the 1960s and 1970s. The collection contains memos, minutes, reports, correspondence, and various other operational records that give insights into the EOP, as well as a number of materials that offer outside perspectives of the program. The collection is significant due to the insights it provides of college administrator's attempts to increase racial diversity on campus.

Container Listing

Series 1. Bridges Program
Box Folder Description Dates
1 1 Fact Sheet, undated
  2 Program Data, 2003
Series 2. Educational Opportunity Program
Box Folder Description Dates
1 3 Application Process, 1969, undated
  4 Budget Information, 1968-1977
  5 Communications from Black Students, 1968-1969
  6 Correspondence, 1968-1975
  7 General Program Information, 1968-1972, undated
  8 Job Description/Hiring - Director, 1969-1978
  9 Memos & Minutes - Action Program on the Disadvantaged Student, 1968-1969
  10-13 Memos & Minutes - EOP Office and Committee, 1968-1978
2 1-2 Memos & Minutes - EOP Committee (Rough Draft), 1969-1974, undated
  3 Memos & Minutes - Outside Groups/Individuals, 1968-1973
  4 Offices Layout, undated
  5 Plans & Policies, 1971-1975, undated
  6 Printed Materials - Awards Ceremony Programs, 1988-1992
  7 Printed Materials - Educational Opportunity Program Digest, 1971
  8 Printed Materials - Fact Sheets, 1988-1990, 2005
  9 Printed Materials - Newspaper Articles, 1969
  10 Printed Materials - Program Brochures & Booklets, 1981, undated
  11 Printed Materials - Student Course Guide, 2001
  12 Reports, 1968-1986, undated
  13 Student Data [RESTRICTED], 1968-1989, undated
  14 Surveys (Questionnaires Only), undated

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617