Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: College Administration & Offices

Office of Public Affairs Records, 1950-2013

Collection Summary

Office of Public Affairs Records, 1950-2013

Collection Number: CA-01016
Collection Size: 21.0 cubic ft.

Access & Arrangement

The Office of Public Affairs Records are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed.

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Institutional History

The Office of Public Affairs (previously Office of College Relations) is responsible for the management and dissemination of information about the college to it's respective audiences, and notably communicates extensively with outside media groups.

Scope and Content

The collection contains records relating to the operations of the Office of Public Affairs dating from 1950 to the present.

This series makes up the bulk of the collection, and contain press releases issued by the Office of Public Affairs on behalf of the college beginning in 1950. In addition to the actual press releases there are a number of yearly slugline lists.

The collection also contains a large number of printed materials that were issued as communications from Public Affairs, most notably The Potsdam Reporter. To see printed materials designed by Public Affairs for other campus units, please look at the records for that respective unit.

This series contains a small number of departmental files, including memos, campus communications, publications information, radio and television scripts, and other records.

 

Container Listing

Series 1. Press Releases
Box Description Dates
1 Press Release Sluglines, 1960-2003
2 Press Releases, January 1953 - August 1960
3 Press Releases, September 1960 - October 1964
4 Press Releases, October 1964 - October 1966
5 Press Releases, October 1966 - December 1967
6 Press Releases, January 1968 - March 1969
7 Press Releases, March 1969 - June 1970
8 Press Releases, June 1970 - April 1972
9 Press Releases, May 1972 - December 1974
10 Press Releases, January 1975 - May 1978
11 Press Releases, May 1978 - April 1983
12 Press Releases, May 1983 - December 1987
13 Press Releases, January 1988 - June 1991
14 Press Releases, January 1992 - July 1995
15 Press Releases, August 1995 - June 2001
16 Press Releases, July 2002 - August 2007
17 Press Releases, September 2007 - December 2010
Series 2. Printed Materials
Box Folder Description Dates
18   Potsdam Reporter, 1973-1981
19   Potsdam Reporter, 1982-1986
20   Potsdam Reporter, 1987-1990
21   Potsdam Reporter, 1991-1994
22   Potsdam Reporter, 1995-1998
23   Potsdam Reporter, 1999-2001
24   Potsdam Reporter, 2002-2006
25   Potsdam Reporter, 2007-2011
26   Potsdam Reporter, 2012-2013
27 1-2 Faculty & Staff Bulletin, 1955-1971
  3 Campus Bulletin, 1971-1973
  4 Bear Facts, 1980-1983
  5 For the Record, 1983-1985
  6 Extra, Extra, Extra, 1984
  7 Positively Potsdam, circa 1985-1987
Series 3. Departmental Files
Box Folder Description Dates
28 1 Campus Announcements, 1989, 1994
  2 Community Service, 1973
  3 Correspondence (Earl Hutchinson - Information Director), 1959-1960
  4 Faculty Resource Directories, 1982-1989
  5 Memos, 1983-1997
  6 News Clippings about Public Affairs, circa 1969
  7 Publication Schedule, 1987
  8 Requests for College Catalogs, 1955, 1960
  9 Scripts - Ice Carnival (TV) & Crane WMSA Broadcasts (Radio), 1959-1960

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617