President's Office Records, 1876-2011
Collection Number: CA-01000
Collection Size: 6.90 cubic feet
The President’s Office records are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed, and may receive a more detailed processing in the future. The collection materials are arranged by president, and sometimes include records from outside their presidency dates.
The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.
The President’s Office (previously the Principal’s Office) was created in 1816 with the founding of the St. Lawrence Academy. The office is the main executive office of the college, and is responsible for the operations and strategic planning of the institution.
The President’s Office records are currently divided into twelve series, with each series representing a presidential term. Materials created by acting presidents have been arranged into the series of the president that preceded their interim term.
Series contains biographical materials and two published textbooks authored by Dr. MacVicar.
Series contains biographical materials, correspondence, and writings.
Series contains biographical materials, correspondence, memos, and reports. Additionally, there are a couple of undated technical drawings of campus buildings and grounds.
Series contains biographical materials and extensive correspondence, memos, and reports. Of note, many of the materials directly discuss the school’s educational role during World War II.
Series contains biographical materials, with a large focus on Crumb’s memorial. Additional materials include correspondence, memos, reports, and speeches.
Series mostly contains biographical materials, along with a limited number of memos, reports, and writings.
The bulk of the series contains speeches given by Barrington both on and off campus. Other materials include biographical materials, memos, reports, correspondence, awards & honors, and subject files on various campus “crises,” including the campus response to the Kent State University shootings of 1970. Of note, a significant portion of the materials predates Barrington’s time as President, including materials from his time as Vice-President of Student Affairs.
Series contains correspondence, memos, reports, and speeches.
Series contains extensive correspondence, as well as memos, reports, and speeches.
Series contains biographical materials, correspondence, memos, reports, speeches, and writings.
The bulk of the series consists of memos and reports. Other materials include limited speeches and an interview conducted with North Country Public Radio.
Series contains biographical materials, memos, reports, and a limited number of speeches.
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1 | Biographical File - Tributes, | 1904 |
| 2 | Biographical File - From SUNY Brockport Archives, | 1904-2003 | |
| 3 | Writings - Published Text Books, | 1876-1877 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 4 | Awards & Honors - Stowell Hall Dedication, | 1961-1964 |
| 10 | Awards & Honors -University of Southern California, | 1921, 1924 | |
| 1 | 5 | Biographical File, | 1903-1991 |
| 6 | Correspondence & Notes, | circa 1890-1909 | |
| 7 | Correspondence - State of New York Education Department, | 1907-1908 | |
| 8 | Writings - "State Normal and Traning Syllabus" and "The Traning of Teachers", | circa 1893 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 9 | Biographical File, | 1919-1939, 1990 |
| 10 | Correspondence, | 1924-1936 | |
| 11 | Correspondence - Academic Programs, | 1933-1934 | |
| 12 | Memos & Reports, | 1933-1937, undated | |
| 13 | Memos & Reports - To Faculty Members, | 1934-1939 | |
| 14 | Memos & Reports - Student/Faculty Association, | 1929-1939 | |
| 15 | Technical Drawings - Campus Layout, | undated |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | 1 | Biographical File, | 1945 |
| 2 | Correspondence, | 1939-1946 | |
| 3 | Correspondence - Academic Programs, | 1941 | |
| 4 | Correspondence - Alumni, | 1941 | |
| 5-6 | Correspondence - Armed Forces Institute, | 1943-1946 | |
| 7 | Correspondence - Campus Bookstore, | 1939-1941 | |
| 8 | Correspondence - Helen Hosmer, | 1940-1944 | |
| 9 | Correspondence - Hiring, Music Position, | 1943 | |
| 10 | Correspondence - Local Clubs, | 1941-1943 | |
| 11 | Correspondence - National Youth Association, | 1939-1941 | |
| 12 | Correspondence - New York State Legislation, | 1944-1945 | |
| 13 | Correspondence - School of Practice, Employment, | 1942-1943 | |
| 14 | Correspondence - Student Council, | 1944-1945 | |
| 3 | 1-2 | Memos & Reports, | 1939-1946 |
| 3 | Memos & Reports - Air Raid Data, | 1942, undated | |
| 4 | Memos & Reports - Arbitration, | 1945 | |
| 5 | Memos & Reports - Cafeteria, | 1943-1945 | |
| 6 | Memos & Reports - Committee Reports, | circa 1939-1941 | |
| 7 | Memos & Reports - Education Sequence, | 1943 | |
| 8 | Memos & Reports - Enrollment, | 1941-1943 | |
| 9 | Memos & Reports - Entrance Data, | 1940-1942 | |
| 10 | Memos & Reports - Faculty and Faculty Committees, | 1939-1943 | |
| 11 | Memos & Reports - Faculty Committee Minutes, | 1939-1943 | |
| 12 | Memos & Reports - Feasibility of School Museum, | circa 1940 | |
| 13 | Memos & Reports - Library Allocations, | 1942-1943 | |
| 14 | Memos & Reports - Local Board, | 1943 | |
| 15 | Memos & Reports - Proposed Budgets, | 1940-1944 | |
| 16 | Memos & Reports - Scholarship Committee, | 1941-1942 | |
| 17-18 | Memos & Reports - School of Practice, | 1939-1945 | |
| 19-20 | Memos & Reports - School Operations, | 1940-1942 | |
| 21 | Memos & Reports - Student Church Preference, | undated | |
| 22 | Memos & Reports - Student Faculty Association, | 1939-1941 | |
| 23 | Memos & Reports - Student Placement, | 1939-1941 | |
| 24 | Memos & Reports - Student Recruitment, | 1942-1943 | |
| 4 | 1 | Memos & Reports - Summer Session, | 1940-1942 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 | 2 | Biographical, | 1952-1961 |
| 3-4 | Biographical - Memorial, | 1967 | |
| 10 | Biographical - Memorial, | 1967 | |
| 10 | Biographical - Memorial Program (Reel-to-Reel Audio Tape), | 1967 | |
| 10 | Awards & Honors - Village Citation, | 1966 | |
| 4 | 5 | Correspondence, | 1946-1966 |
| 6 | Legal - Agreement with Watertown Musicians' Association, | 1946 | |
| 7-8 | Memos & Reports, | 1946-1968 | |
| 9-10 | Memos & Reports - Annual Reports, | 1952-1960 | |
| 5 | 1 | Memos & Reports - Annual Reports, | 1960-1964 |
| 2 | Memos & Reports - Committee on General Education, | 1950 | |
| 3 | Speeches, | 1946-1965 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | 4 | Biographical, | 1968-1970 |
| 5 | Biographical - Newspaper Reports, | 1967-1970 | |
| 10 | Interview - Paul Harvey News, Discussing Class of 1972 (Reel-to-Reel Audio Tape), | 1968 | |
| 5 | 6 | Memorials, | 1970 |
| 7 | Memos & Reports, | 1968-1969 | |
| 8 | Presidential Acceptance, | 1967-1968 | |
| 9 | Speeches, | circa 1968-1969 | |
| 10 | Video (Helical) - St. Lawrence, Canton ATC, Clarkson, & Potsdam State, | undated | |
| 5 | 10 | Writings, | 1952-1958 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | 11 | Biographical File, | 1970-1978 |
| 12 | Awards & Honors - Honorary Degree St. Lawrence University, | 1977 | |
| 10 | Awards & Honors - Honorary Degree St. Lawrence University, | 1977 | |
| 10 | Awards & Honors - Barrington Retirement Dinner (Reel-to-Reel Audio Tape), | 1978 | |
| 5 | 13-14 | Awards & Honors - Student Union Dedication, | 1988 |
| 15 | Correspondence, | 1972-1978 | |
| 16 | Correspondence - Business Management, | 1974-1977 | |
| 17 | Correspondence - Holiday Greetings from the Barringtons, | 1970s | |
| 18 | Correspondence - Presidential Appointment, | 1970 | |
| 6 | 1 | Correspondence - Student Union Dedication, | 1988 |
| 2-3 | Correspondence - Thanks & Appreciation, | 1962-1978 | |
| 4 | "Crisis Management" - Race, Anti-War, etc., | 1969-1973 | |
| 5 | "Crisis Management" - Kent State University Shootings, | 1970 | |
| 6-10 | Lectures, | circa 1960s-1970s | |
| 11-12 | Memos & Reports, | 1970-1978 | |
| 13 | Memos & Reports - Academic Community via Staff Bulletin, | 1969-1970 | |
| 14-16 | Memos & Reports - Annual Reports, | 1969-1977 | |
| 17 | Memos & Reports - Campus Overview | 1962 | |
| 18 | Memos & Reports - Faculty, | 1971-1977 | |
| 19 | Memos & Reports - Presidential Evaluations, | 1974-1977 | |
| 20 | Memos & Reports - Task Force on Improving the Quality of Student Life, | 1983-1986 | |
| 21-23 | Speeches - Addresses to Alumni, | 1970-1978 | |
| 7 | 1 | Speeches - Addresses to College Staff, | 1970-1972 |
| 2 | Speeches - Addresses to Crane Students and Faculty, | 1975 | |
| 3-5 | Speeches - Addresses to Faculty, | 1969-1977 | |
| 6 | Speeches - Addresses to Faculty and Student Senate, | 1978 | |
| 7 | Speeches - Addresses to the Faculty of the School of Liberal Studies, | 1976 | |
| 8 | Speeches - Addresses to Parents, | 1978 | |
| 9 | Speeches - Addresses to Student Affairs, | 1970-1975 | |
| 10 | Speeches - Addresses to Student Senate, | 1970 | |
| 11-13 | Speeches - Addresses to Students, | 1970-1977 | |
| 14 | Speeches - Appreciation Dinner, | 1978 | |
| 15 | Speeches - Athletics, | 1984, undated | |
| 16 | Speeches - Barrington Drive Dedication, | 1981 | |
| 17 | Speeches - Chamber of Commerce, | 1971-1972 | |
| 18 | Speeches - Commencement Addresses to High Schools, | 1954-1966 | |
| 19 | Speeches - Commencement Addresses to High School and Colleges, | 1966-1970 | |
| 20 | Speeches - Commencement Addresses to SUNY Potsdam, | 1970-1978 | |
| 21 | Speeches - Ecumenical Thanksgiving Program, | 1975 | |
| 22 | Speeches - Gouverneur Chamber of Commerce, | 1972 | |
| 23 | Speeches - Gouverneur Honor Society, | 1955 | |
| 24 | Speeches - Massena Luncheon Club, | 1972 | |
| 25 | Speeches - Mater Dei College Faculty, | 1971 | |
| 26 | Speeches - Medical Services Panel Orientation, | undated | |
| 27 | Speeches - Miscellaneous, | circa 1970s | |
| 28 | Speeches - Newman Center Dedication, | 1971 | |
| 29 | Speeches - Potsdam Rotary Club, | 1970 | |
| 30-31 | Speeches - Retirements and Testimonial Dinners, | circa 1970s-1980s | |
| 32 | Speeches - School Board Institute, | 1974 | |
| 33 | Speeches - Seminar on Collective Negotiations, | 1975 | |
| 34 | Speeches - SUNY New Paltz Business Managers, | 1980 | |
| 35 | Speeches - Watertown Chamber of Commerce, | 1972 | |
| 36 | Writings - Article for College Newspaper, | circa 1970s | |
| 37 | Writings - Human Relations at Potsdam State Teacher's College, | undated | |
| 38 | Writings - M.A. Thesis "Apportionment of State Aid to Central Rural School Districts", | 1942 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8 | 1 | Biographical, | 1978-1983 |
| 2 | Correspondence, | 1978-1983 | |
| 3-5 | Correspondence - Business Management, | 1978-1982 | |
| 6 | Correspondence - Center for Public Service, | 1980-1981 | |
| 7 | Correspondence - Clarkson College of Technology, | 1979-1981 | |
| 8 | Correspondence - College Community Week, | 1980-1981 | |
| 9 | Correspondence - Potsdam Village Council, | 1978-1982 | |
| 10 | Correspondence - St. Lawrence County Economic Development Council, | 1978-1981 | |
| 11 | Correspondence - St. Lawrence County Foundation for Youth (Music Theatre North), | 1979-1981 | |
| 12 | Correspondence - St. Lawrence County Health/Mental Health Services, | 1982 | |
| 13 | Correspondence - St. Lawrence University, | 1981-1982 | |
| 14 | Inauguration, | 1979 | |
| 15 | Memos & Reports, | 1978-1983 | |
| 16 | Memos & Reports - Annual Reports, | 1977-1983 | |
| 17 | Speeches, | 1978-1982 | |
| 10 | Speeches - Addresses to the Faculty (Audio Cassettes), | 1981-1982 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8 | 18 | Correspondence, | 1984-1988 |
| 19 | Correspondence - Board of Cooperative Educational Services, | 1984 | |
| 20 | Correspondence - Businesses Management, | 1982-1984 | |
| 21 | Correspondence - Center for the Performing Arts, | 1982-1984 | |
| 22 | Correspondence - Center for Public Service, | 1982-1984 | |
| 23 | Correspondence - Clarkson Community of Technology Relations, | 1982-1984 | |
| 24 | Correspondence - College Community Week, | 1983 | |
| 25 | Correspondence - Community Relations, | 1983-1984 | |
| 26 | Correspondence - Mater Dei College, | 1983 | |
| 27 | Correspondence - Potsdam Chamber of Commerce, | 1984 | |
| 28 | Correspondence - Potsdam Village Government, | 1983 | |
| 29 | Correspondence - St. Lawrence County Economic Development Council, | 1983 | |
| 30 | Correspondence - St. Lawrence County Foundation for Youth (Music Theatre North), | 1983 | |
| 31 | Correspondence - St. Lawrence County Health/Mental Health Services, | 1982-1983 | |
| 32 | Correspondence - St. Lawrence University, | 1983-1984 | |
| 33 | Correspondence - Tourism, | 1984 | |
| 34 | Correspondence - Wadhams Hall, | 1983-1984 | |
| 35 | Hiring, Inauguration, and Investiture, | 1983 | |
| 36 | Memos & Reports, | 1984-1988 | |
| 37-38 | Memos & Reports - Annual Reports, | 1983-1988 | |
| 39 | Memos & Reports - Language & Culture in International Organizations, | 1987 | |
| 40 | Memos & Reports - North Country Initiative, | 1984, 1987 | |
| 41 | Memos & Reports - President's Digest, | 1984 | |
| 42 | Speeches, | 1985, 1987 | |
| 43 | Writings - Papers Presented on the New Liberal Arts, | 1983 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | 44 | Biographical, | 1989-2011 |
| 45 | Correspondence - Kwanzaa Card, | undated | |
| 46 | Hiring and Inauguration, | 1988-1989 | |
| 10 | Inauguration (Audio Cassette), | 1989 | |
| 10 | Interview - SUNY Potsdam's 175th Anniversary (DVD-R), | 1991 | |
| 8 | 47 | Memos & Reports, | 1988-1998 |
| 48 | Memos & Reports - Annual Reports, | 1989-1991 | |
| 9 | 1 | Memos & Reports - Annual Reports, | 1991-1996 |
| 2 | Speeches, | 1990-1995 | |
| 10 | Speech - Campus Assembly (Audio Cassette), | 1995 | |
| 10 | Speech - Presidential Address (Audio Cassette), | 1990 | |
| 9 | 3 | Writings - Articles, | 1993, undated |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9 | 4 | Inauguration, | 1998 |
| 10 | Inauguration (Audio Cassette), | 1998 | |
| 10 | Inauguration - Crane Inaugural Concert (Audio Cassette), | 1998 | |
| 10 | Interview - North Country Public Radio (Audio Cassette), | 1998 | |
| 9 | 5 | Memos & Reports, | 1998-2005 |
| 6 | Memos & Reports - Annual Reports, | 1998-2005 | |
| 7-8 | Memos & Reports - The Millennium & Beyond, | 1998-1999 | |
| 9-10 | Memos & Reports - Periodic Updates, | 2001-2005 | |
| 11 | Memos & Reports - Vision Update, | 2001 | |
| 12 | Memos & Reports - Visioning Committee on Enrollment Management, | 1999 | |
| 13 | Speeches, | 2004 |
| Box | Folder | Description | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9 | 14 | Biographical, | 2007 |
| 15 | Inauguration, | 2007 | |
| 16 | Memos & Reports - President's Notes, | 2007-2011 | |
| 17 | Speeches, | 2006-2008 | |
| 18 | Trip - La Universidad Autonoma del Esado de Hidalgo, | 2011 |
Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451
library@potsdam.edu
Text Us!: 315-277-3730
