College Archives: College Administration & Offices

Collection Summary

Office of Human Resources Records, 1950-2013

Collection Number: CA-01001
Collection Size: 7.6 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The Office of the Registrar records are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed, and divided into five series

1. Organizational Charts
2. Memos and Reports
3. Printed Materials
4. Affirmative Action
5. Employee Files

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Institutional History

The Office of Human Resources is responsible for overseeing policies relating to the management of SUNY Potsdam employees. This includes providing the campus with service and advice regarding all aspects of appointments, evaluations, benefits, classification, compensation, labor relations, worker's compensation, Civil Service and interpretation of the various agreements that have been negotiated between the State of New York and our unionized employees. 

Scope and Content

The collection contains memos, reports, printed materials, and employee files from 1950-2013 that document the services offered by the Office of Human Resources. The bulk of the materials are employee files for SUNY Potsdam administrators and faculty.

Of note, Affirmative Action records are currently located in the Human Resources collection, including records from when the office acted independently from Human Resources.

Container Listing

Series 1. Organizational Charts

Box	Folder	Description	Dates
1	1	Organizational Charts,	circa 1967-1989
	2	Organizational Charts,	1990-1997
	3	Organizational Charts,	1998-2007, 2011

Series 2. Memos and Reports

Box	Folder	Description	Dates
1	4	Alcohol, Tobacco, and Drug Policies,	1994-1999
	5	Campus Job Descriptions,	1989
	6	Campus Programs,	1982-1997
	7	Employee Recognition,	1978, 1994-1995
	8	Employee Safety,	1986-2004
	9	General Employment,	1973-2000
	10	Presidential & Vice-Presidential Search Committees,	1983-1996
	11	Salary and Benefits,	1972-1996

Series 3. Printed Materials

Box	Folder	Description	Dates
1	12	Employee Recognition and Award Booklets,	1985-2013
	13	Faculty Handbooks,	1950-1957
2	1-4	Faculty Handbooks,	1958-1969
3	1	Faculty Handbooks,	1970-1973
	2-4	Faculty Handbook,	1992
	5-7	Faculty Handbook,	1994
4	1-3	Faculty Handbook,	1995
	4-8	Faculty/Staff Factbooks,	1979-1989
5	1-5	Faculty/Staff Factbooks,	1989-2002

Series 4. Affirmative Action

Sub-Series A. Questionnaires & Statistics

Box	Folder	Description	Dates
5	6	Questionnaire - Women Staff,	1993
	7-9	Employee Statistics,	1987-1989
	10	Employee Statistics,	1993
	11	Employee Statistics,	1995
	12	Employee Statistics,	undated

Sub-Series B. Memos & Reports

Box	Folder	Description	Dates
6	1	General,	circa 1970s-1990s
	2	Affirmative Action Compliance Plan,	1973
	3	Staffing,	1974-1991
	4	Affirmative Action Program,	1974
	5	Title IX - Self Evaluation,	1976
	6-7	Affirmative Action Compliance Plans,	1976-1977
	8	Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action,	circa 1977
	9	Self Evaluation of...the Rehabilation Act of 1973,	1978
	10-11	Affirmative Action Compliance Plans,	1980-1981
	12	Affirmative Action for Handicapped Persons,	1983
	13	Report to the President of Minority Enrollment/Affairs,	1985
	14	Affirmative Action Plan,	1988
7	1	Report on the Status of Women Students, Faculty, Administrators, and Staff,	1988
	2	Affirmative Action and the Search Process,	1989
	3	Action Plan for the Recruitment and Retention of Minority Students, Faculty, and Staff,	1989
	4	Daycare,	1990
	5-9	Affirmative Action Plans,	1992-1997
	10	Affirmative Action Plan,	2000-2001
	11	Preliminary Report on the Status of Women at SUNY Potsdam,	2001
8	1	Affirmative Action Plan,	2003-2004
	2-3	Affirmative Action Plan,	2008-2011

Sub-Series C. Printed Materials

Box	Folder	Description	Dates
8	4	Brochures, Flyers, and Pamphlets,	circa 1980s-1990s
	5	Events,	1976-1991, undated
	6	Newsletters - The Green Sheet,	1978-1979
	7	Newsletters - Women News,	1986
	8	Statement of Policy: Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action,	undated

Series 5. Employee Files

Box	Folder	Description	Dates
8		Aboud, Anton - Bayliss, George,	circa 1950s-1990s
9		Beane, Edward R. - Frackenpohl, Arthur	circa 1950s-1990s
10		Frackenpohl, Mary W. - Kolson, Clifford J.,	circa 1950s-1990s
11		Kristiansen, Eslie D. - Purdue, Lauren,	circa 1950s-1990s
12		Putnam, Philip - Washburn, Robert,	circa 1950s-1990s