Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Campus History, Photographs, and Publications

Campus Buildings and Grounds Collection, 1912-2007

Collection Summary

Campus Buildings and Grounds Collection, 1912-2007

Collection Number: CA-40002
Collection Size: 0.9 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The Campus Buildings and Grounds Collection is open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed.

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Scope and Content

The collection contains a wide variety of materials related to previous and current campus buildings and grounds. Materials include articles, construction information, biographical information of individuals honored through building names, and more.

Container Listing

Series 1. General Buildings and Grounds Information
Box Folder Description Dates
1 1 Articles on Campus Buildings, 1949-1973
  2 Buidling Budgets, circa 1970
  3 Campus Maps, circa 1963-1975
  4 Correspondence - Contractors, Architects, etc., 1945-1946
  5 Faculty Responses to Proposed Buildings, undated
  6 History - Building Names, 1960-1981
  7 Legal Documents, 1919, 1932
  8 Policies - Facilities Use, undated

Series 2. Specific Buildings

Sub-Series A. Historic Buildings
Box Folder Description Dates
1 9 St. Lawrence Academy Buildings, 1959, undated
  10 Normal I Building, 1903-1906, undated
  11 Normal II Building (Presently Clarkson's Snell Hall), undated
Series 2. Specific Buildings

Sub-Series B. Current Buildings
Box Folder Description Dates
1 12 Barrington Hall, circa 1968-1988
  13 Bowman Hall, 1960-1973
  14 Brainerd Hall, 1967-1969, undated
  15 Carson Hall (Bulk Biographical), 1927-1977
  16 Crane Music Center, circa 1970
  17-18 Crumb Library, 1967-1969
2 1 Dunn Hall, 1941-1974
  2 Flagg Hall, circa 1925-1967
  3 Kellas Hall, 1943-1969
  4 Knowles Hall, circa 1966-1967
  5 Lehman Hall, 1968
  6 MacVicar Hall, undated
  7 Maxcy Hall, 1964-1974
  8 Merritt Hall, 1912-1972
  9 Morey Hall, undated
  10 President's Residence, 1955-2007, undated
  11 Raymond Hall, 1970, undated
  12 Saterlee Hall (Old Raymond), 1955-1973
  13 Service Building, 1965-1966
  14 Sisson Hall, 1954, undated
  15 Stowell Hall, 1961-1968
  16 Timerman Hall, 1967-1969
  17 Thatcher Hall, 1955-1961, undated
  18 Van Housen Hall, 1953-1959, undated

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617