Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Russia/USSR: Reference

Reference sources - what are they?

Materials which are referred to for brief or general information. Examples include:

  • Background or overview synopses (encyclopedia)
  • Definitions (dictionary)
  • Synonyms (thesaurus)
  • Statistics
  • Biographical Details
  • Maps (atlas)

Reference sources - how to search them

Reference resources are organized in an order that aids searching (alphabetically, chronologically, etc).  Most include an index which points users to the appropriate section.  Tips for searching:

  1. Decide on your search terms
  2. Try searching with them
  3. If not satisfied with the results, try searching a synonym or related idea

Things to watch out for:

  • Is the computer searching only the title/header of the entries or the full-text of the information?  You will get more results, but more of them will be irrelabent if you are searching the full-text.
  • Are you searching for a proper noun (name, place,...)?  Make sure that the spelling is correct and try variations if it originated in a foreign language.
  • Searching for something by date?  This is trickier than it sounds.  If possible, search for an event name or topic rather than a date, e.g. civil rights movement or hippies or flower children rather than 1960s.

 

Major Encyclopedias

  • Historical dictionary of Russia. Ref DK 36 .R39 1998
  • The Cambridge encyclopedia of Russia and the former Soviet Union. Ref DK 14 .C35 1994
  • The Blackwell encyclopedia of the Russian Revolution. Ref DK 265 .B54 1988
  • Companion to Russian history. Ref DK 36 .P39 1983
  • The Soviet Union and Eastern Europe. Ref. DK17 .S64 1986

 

Statistics


International historical statistics : Europe, 1750-2000 . Ref. HA1107 .M5 2003

Maps and Atlases

Atlas of Russia and the independent republics. Ref. G 2110 .B7 1994

Research Guides

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617