Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microforms Collections in F.W. Crumb Library

Crumb Library houses a variety of primary materials collections in microforms. This guide will describe our collections, outline how to find and use them as well as the resources you use to determine the content of the collections.

Scope of the collection - Early Western Travels, 1748-1846 (Thwaites)

In the early 1900s, Reuben Gold Thwaites reprinted a collection of diaries, journals, sketches, etc. that represented "some of the best and rarest" volumes of travel in the American West during its early settlement period (late eighteenth to early nineteenth centuries).  He considered this collection to be "descriptive of the aborigines and social and economic conditions in the middle and far West" and he included his own introductions, notes and annotations to the documents.

Resources for finding documents in the collection

The last two volumes of this collection (v. 31-32) include Thwaites' extensive, analytical index of the collection.  

The Library of Congress, as part of the American Memory Project, has included a table of contents and links to the text of this collection as well.

Format and Location

Microcard (3 by 5 inches) in cabinets

Organized by voluming of the original print collection.  The last cards marked volume 31 and 32 are the analytical index.  Also, see the link to the Library of Congress table of contents under "Finding Aids".

Use the ST View Scan for Microcard to view, scan, and save the documents.

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617