Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching Online - General Resources for Faculty

Most Free COVID Resources will not be available

This Spring many of our vendors generously offered to make electronic content available for free during the COVID-19 crisis. Most of the free trials expire in May or June. There are a few vendors who are continuing to make resources available. We will be maintaining a list of databases here:

COVID New Eresources

 

Library database and journal subscriptions - What can you count on?

You can count on most of the subscribed content in library databases and journals (as long as we renew our subscriptions). However, occasionally a publisher will pull content from subscribed resources. It doesn't happen frequently, it is not always predictable, and if it does happen, we will try to help you by finding alternative access through other vendors or interlibrary loan. Here are a few database in which content can change:

  • Ebook Central (Proquest)  content is added monthly, deletes are done 2x per year (June and December)
  • Films on Demand - content added monthly, discontinued titles deleted 2x / year (June and December)
  • Most of our aggregate journal databases (e.g. EbscoHost, Proquest, and Gale) will see some fluctuation in content. Most often coverage will end with a certain year, rather than have content deleted.

Some databases and journals include perpetual access rights (you can count on this content):

  • American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals
  • Anthrosource (2012-present)
  • ARTStor (as long as we continue to pay the annual access fee)
  • GeoScienceWorld (2000-2019)
  • JSTOR (as long as we continue to pay the annual access fee)
  • Royal Society of Chemistry journals (2012-2017)
  • Oxford Reference e-books
  • Sage journal collections
  • Salem Press e-books
  • ScienceDirect (some years)
  • Springer journals and e-books
  • State University of New York Press ebooks (2000-2006)
  • The Times (London) Digital Archive
  • Many of or electronic journal subscriptions

Budget Cuts - Three Scenarios 5%, 10% and 25% cuts

The Crumb Library is anticipating budget cuts for the 2020-2021 fiscal year. We are planning for three different scenarios:

A flat budget, with inflation and annual subscription increases, means we would have to cut our databases and periodical subscriptions by 5-6% to remain flush. We are also planning for 10% and 30% cuts.

Database prices are SUNY confidential, so we cannot post prices for database here, as that would violate non-disclosure agreements. Subscription dates and the renewal cycle happen throughout the year, but our renewal decisions are done early in the cycle so that the budget implications are clear and we can execute decisions accordingly. Subscriptions for the July-June cycle need to be renewed or cancelled in May.

Cancellation and renewal recommendations were made considering many factors: Cost of database, how much and how it was used in 2019 and previous years, cost per use, availability of material through interlibrary loan, potential impact on ILL staff and costs, perpetual use licenses for subscribed titles, use by librarians in research services and instruction, and anecdotal evidence from librarians and faculty. We are cancelling several full text databases so we can preserve the finding tools (indexes and abstracts). Faculty and students should plan to use Interlibribrary Loan to get articles.

It is worth noting that use of library resources have been declining across the board for many years, as our student enrollments have also declined. Fewer students means fewer research assignments and less use of our research services and resources.

This was a difficult process for librarians, and we tried to distribute the pain across many disciplines. We acknowledge that such deep cuts to our online resources is devastating as we shift to online teaching. We would prefer to add resources. This is painful for everyone.

Questions about proposed database cancellations can be directed to Marianne Hebert hebertm@potsdam.edu

We would be happy to meet with individuals and department to discuss the potential cuts, and how we can assist with alternate access to content.

 

Total Crumb Library database spend 2019-2020 $177,505.24
Projected 2020-2021 costs 5% annual increase adjusted for known databases with 0-1% increases. $181,009.16
Flat budget - Need to cut 5% $3,503.92
   
2020-2021 budget if it is reduced 10% $159,754.72
10% - Need to cut $21,254.44
   
2020-2021 budget if it is reduced 30% $123,368.79
30% - Need to cut $54,136.45

 

Flat - 5% Cuts

Databases recommended for cancellation if our budget is flat (5% cuts):

Subscription dates listed after each title are for the current fiscal year. Invoices have been paid, and access is guaranteed until the subscription end date.

  • Alexander Street Drama   09-01-19 to 08-31-20
  • Choice Reviews Online    11-01-19 to 10-31-20
  • Dance in Video                 08-01-19 to 07-31-20

10% budget cuts

Databases recommended for cancellation if our budget is reduced 10%:

Subscription dates listed after each title are for the current fiscal year. Invoices have been paid, and access is guaranteed until the subscription end date.

  • Alexander Street Drama      09-01-19 to 08-31-20
  • America History & Life - Historical Abstracts with Full Text      07-01-19 to 06-30-20
  • Choice Reviews Online       11-01-19 to 10-31-20
  • Dance in Video                    08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • GeoScienceWorld               12-01-19 to 11-30-20
  • Oxford English Dictionary    07-01-19 to 06-30-20

 

30% budget cut

Databases recommended for cancellation if our budget is reduced 30%:

Subscription dates listed after each title are for the current fiscal year. Invoices have been paid, and access is guaranteed until the subscription end date.

  • ACS Legacy Archives                01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • Alexander Street Drama            09-01-19 to 08-31-20
  • Alexander Street Social and Cultural History Online: Letters and Diaries   09-01-19 to 08-31-20
  • America History & Life - Historical Abstracts with Full Text     07-01-19 to 06-30-20
  • AnthroSource                              01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • ARTStor annual access fee        01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • Choice Reviews Online              11-01-19 to 10-31-20
  • Dance in Video                            08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • GeoScienceWorld                       12-01-19 to 11-30-20     
  • HRAF (World Cultures)               01-01-20 to 12-31-20    
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance™ with Full Text
  • Oxford English Dictionary           07-01-19 to 06-30-20
  • PsycArticles                              08-01-19 to 07-31-20

 

Note that for GeoScienceWorld, our past subscriptions include perpetual access rights. Even if we cancel, we plan on paying for the annual access fee of $1,150 so students and faculty will have access to paid content 2005-2019.

Databases we are recommending for renewal

We will continue to have access to research tools and databases supplied to us by our consortial partners: SUNYConnect, New York State Library and Northern New York Library Network. This includes our Gale databases and any Ebsco databases not listed as a cancel or renewal.

The following databases are recommended for renewal. Until we have a firm budget allocation, renewal decisions will be made on a day-to-day basis, and we may not be able to follow our recommendations:

  • America History & Life - Historical Abstracts (index)   08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • Anthropological Literature                                            09-01-19 to 08-31-20
  • Art Index                                                                       08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete                    08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text                      08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • Ebook Central                                                              09-01-19 to 08-31-20
  • Films on Demand / Films for the Humanities               07-01-19 to 06-30-20
  • GeoRef                                                                         09-01-19 to 08-31-20
  • JSTOR                                                                          01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • MathSciNet                                                                   01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • MLA                                                                              07-01-19 to 06-30-20
  • Philosopher's Index                                                      08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • Project Muse (Basic College Collection)                      01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • PsycINFO                                                                     08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • Sage Criminology                                                         01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • Sage Education                                                            01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • Sage Nursing Health Sciences                                     01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • Sage Psychology                                                          01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • Sage Sociology                                                             01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • Sociological Abstracts                                                   07-01-19 to 06-30-20
  • Springer Journals                                                          01-01-20 to 12-31-20
  • Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide                       08-01-19 to 07-31-20
  • Worldcat                                                                        07-01-19 to 06-30-20

Database Renewal and Cancellation Actions DONE

As database renewals and cancelations are done, we will record the actions here so there will be an up to date record of what is available or not available. Access is not guaranteed until the invoice is paid and the payment checks are received by the vendors. Renewal decsions will be made on a day-to-day basis, until we have a firm budget allocation.

 

Database Subscription Dates Action Invoice paid Availability
Alexander Street Drama 09-01-20 to 08-31-21 CANCELLED   Still have access as of 9/9/20
America: History and Life (index) 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED    
America: History and Life FULL TEXT 07-01-20 to 06-30-21 CANCELLED   Still have access as of 9/9/20
Anthropological Literature 09-01-20 to 08-31-21 RENEWED    
Art Index 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED    
Communication & Mass Media Complete 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED    
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED    
Dance in Video 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 CANCELLED   No longer available
Ebook Central Academic Complete 09-01-20 to 08-31-21 RENEWED Invoice sent to Purchasing  
Films on Demand / Films for the Humanities 07-01-20 to 06-30-21 RENEWED Invoice sent to Purchasing  
GeoRef 09-01-20 to 08-31-21 RENEWED Invoice sent to Purchasing  
GeoScienceWorld 12-01-19 to 11-30-20      
Historical Abstracts (index) 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED    
Historical Abstracts FULL TEXT 07-01-20 to 06-30-21 CANCELLED   Still have access as of 9/9/20
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance™ with Full Text With ASP 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 CANCELLED   Still have access as of 9/9/20
MLA International Bibliography 07-01-20 to 06-30-21 RENEWED    
Oxford English Dictionary 07-01-20 to 06-30-21 CANCELLED   No longer available
Philosopher's Index 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED    
PsycARTICLES 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 CANCELLED   No longer available
PsychInfo 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED Invoice sent to Purchasing  
Social and Cultural History Online: Letters and Diaries 09-01-20 to 08-31-21 CANCELLED   Still available as of 9/9/20
Sociological Abstracts  08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED Invoice sent to Purchasing  
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide 08-01-20 to 07-31-21 RENEWED    
WorldCat 07-01-20 to 06-30-21 RENEWED Invoice sent to Purchasing  

 

Crane Databases

Crane Library is cutting the following two databases:

  • Classical Music Library (Alexander Street Press) 
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I

If budget cuts are tighter than expected, then the Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text)  may be cut in January 2020 (upon the end of the current access contract)

Subscriptions to the following music databases will be retained: >
  • Oxford Music Online/Grove 
  • Naxos Music Library 
  • Music Index 
  • RILM Abstracts 
  • Berlin Philharmonic Digital Concert Hall 

The following database has been added for this year (available through April 2021) thanks to the generosity of retiring Dean Michael Sitton:

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617