Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching Online - General Resources for Faculty

SUNY Elsevier ScienceDirect agreement for 2020

Elsevier ScienceDirect

The new contract beginning January 1, 2020, is for three years (with an opt out clause after one year).
The new contract consists of a core list of 248 journals with access to journal articles 2010 to present and includes post termination archival rights.

  • We are losing current access to ~975 journals
  • We will retain archive rights (2010-2019) to ~1150 titles.
  • We lose deep-file access (all content prior to 2010) ~1055 titles.
  • We continue to have access to 887 open access titles.
  • We do have some print bound journal holdings

ScienceDirect Holdings in QuickSearch

Search results in QuickSearch will provide links to ScienceDirect using 4 different collection names. Here is an example from Animal Behavior:

Elsevier holdings hour collection names

 

Science Direct (4 holding collection names and what they mean):

1. ScienceDirect Core Titles (SUNY NZ) (248 titles)
    Current contract. Includes content 2016-present (including perpetual access rights)

2. Sciencedirect PTA (SLSS)  (1144 titles)
    Past contract that included perpetual access for content published ~2010-2019. PTA=Post Termination Access.

3. Elsevier ScienceDirect Open Access Journals (887 titles)
    Freely available

4. Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals Complete  (2421 titles)
This collection represents holdings from our previous license agreements. The holdings are being automatically uploaded by Elsevier based on what they think we should have. It should be accurate, but it is not. Every campus has unique entitlements based on the early license agreements which were partly determined by print holdings. We do not have a comprehensive list of title holdings. We will be reviewing these titles over the summer and adjusting our QuickSearch holdings, so some access may be discontinued as we figure out our entitlements.

 

Access to Lost ScienceDirect Content

When full text is not available in ScienceDirect, articles can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

QuickSearch will display the "Request from Interlibrary Loan" link:

undefined

 

ScienceDirect Interface: When full text of articles are not available in ScienceDirect, click on the Get Access button:

Get Access Button

 

You will be prompted with the FindIt link:

undefined

You will be directed to the QuickSearch login screen and presented with the "Request from Interlibrary Loan" link.

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617