Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microforms Collections in F.W. Crumb Library

Crumb Library houses a variety of primary materials collections in microforms. This guide will describe our collections, outline how to find and use them as well as the resources you use to determine the content of the collections.

American Periodicals, 18th Century - description

This collection of 88 American magazines provides source material for the study of eighteenth-century American society.

The eighteenth century marks the evolution of the American magazine from early short-lived publications in 1741 to the establishment of major magazines.

Identifying Journals in the Collection

American Periodicals, 1741 - 1900: an index to the microfilm collections is located in Crumb Reference PN 4877 .A1 H65 1979.

This volume indexes all three collections in the series.  NOTE:  Crumb has only the first collection for the eighteenth century. Match the title listed to the APS I collection.

 

Nineteenth Century Periodicals

Some of the periodicals identified in the index may be available in the Library of  American Civilization (LAC) collections.

See the finding instructions under the LAC tab in this guide to search that collection.

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617