Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microforms Collections in F.W. Crumb Library

Crumb Library houses a variety of primary materials collections in microforms. This guide will describe our collections, outline how to find and use them as well as the resources you use to determine the content of the collections.

Scope of the collection - Jeffersonian Americana

This collection of 708 rare books and pamphlets serves as a major resource of primary documents for the colonial, revolutionary, and federal periods in American history.

As editor, William Runge purposely sought out materials that were not widely available in other collections and libraries.

Authors and subjects include George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin, Increase Mather, John Cotton, John Quincy Adams, William Penn, James Monroe, Aaron Burr, and Daniel Webster.

Resources for finding documents in the collection

Main Entry Index to Jeffersonian Americana reprinted from Ann Niles' Index to Microform Collections - this guide is kept on top of the cabinets housing the microfiche collection.

  • This listing provides only a brief entry of the document - author, title, date.
  • The collection is filed alphabetically according to the entry in this list

The documents also include the corresponding "Sabin number".  This is the accession number assigned in Joseph Sabin's Biblioteca Americana.  We have the reprint edition of this work published with the title:  A dictionary of books relating to America from its discovery to the present time [1868]. Sabin's 15 volume bibliography is located in the Reference Collection at REF Z1201.S2

  • Entries in the Sabin bibliography provide more information about the document including publishing information and sometimes annotations, cross-references and related works.

Format and location

Positive microfiche (3 by 5 inches) located in the microfiche cabinets.

Organized by brief entry of index.

Use the ST ViewScan for microfilm and microfiche to view the collection.

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617