Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microforms Collections in F.W. Crumb Library

Crumb Library houses a variety of primary materials collections in microforms. This guide will describe our collections, outline how to find and use them as well as the resources you use to determine the content of the collections.

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 - Microcard collection of documents

A project of the American Antiquarian Society and produced on microcard by Readex Imprints, this set provides access to more than 30,000 documents published in the United States between 1639 and 1800.  The collection is based on works identified in Charles Evans' American Bibliography and Roger Bristol's subsequent Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography.  The collection of over 10,000 cards is housed in boxes in numerical/chronological order as items were listed in the Evans and Bristol works.  When a copy of a document listed could not be found for copying, the number appears on the card without the reproduction of the actual document.  The orange boxes of microcards are located adjacent to the microform viewing and scanning equipment on the main floor of Crumb Library.

Charles Evans. American Bibliography

"A chronological dictionary of all books, pamphlets and periodical publications printed in the United States of American from the genesis of printing in 1639 down to and including the year 1820 with bibliographical and biograpical notes" [Evans subsequently decided to end the project with 1800.] 14 volumes with volume 14 providing an index compiled by Roger Bristol.

Crumb Library Ref Z1215 .E923 [housed in the microforms area with the microcard collection]

Roger P. Bristol. Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography

"A chronological list, 1646-1800 of "not in Evans" items.  Documents identified by Bristol were included in the Early American Imprints collection.

Crumb Library Ref Z1215 .E92334 [housed in the microforms area with the microcard collection.]

C.K. Shipton and J.E. Mooney. National Index of American Imprints through 1800

"The Short-Title Evans" was produced in conjunction with the creation of the Early American Imprints microcard collection.  It is a brief entry listing of titles from both Evans and Bristol's Supplement and includes some corrections of mis-information regarding authors, publishers and editions in the original Evans.  Entry numbers match Evans' bibliography and can be used to find more detailed information on document in Evans.

Crumb Library Ref Z1215 .S495  [housed in the microform area with the microcard collection.]

Expanding the work of Evans

Oher bibliographers have continued the work of Evans beyond 1800.  In the Crumb Reference collection are two more bibliographies.  We do not own the microform collection of documents identfied in these sources but some may be available digitially in public domain collections such as the HathiTrust.

R.H. Shoemaker and R.R. Shaw.  American Bibliography, 1801-1819.  Crumb Library Ref Z1215 .C43

R.H. Shoemaker.  A checklist of American imprints, 1820-1829.  Crumb Library Ref  Z1215 .C44

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617