Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microforms Collections in F.W. Crumb Library

Crumb Library houses a variety of primary materials collections in microforms. This guide will describe our collections, outline how to find and use them as well as the resources you use to determine the content of the collections.

American Culture Series (ACS)

This microfilm collection consists of early American Books and pamphlets dated from 1493 to 1875 chosen to provide essential primary sources for the study of Americana.  The full collection consists of 643 reels of microfilm.  Crumb Library has only reels 1-358.  The reels are in number order in the microfilm cabinets at call number E 4.5.

ACS I

Originally, the series covered the years 1493 to 1806 -- a small collection of 250 titles on 26 reels.  This first set of documents is called ACS I.

ACS II

The collection was expanded with new material added every year over a 20 year period. This additional collection (called ACS II) consists of 5,500 documents on 516 more reels.  Crumb Library continued their subscription over the first 10 years only and has ACSII reels 1-358 only.

Finding ACS documents

A single volume index to the collection is located in the Reference Collection at REF. E 156 .A1 A583 1979.  This index is divided into 4 parts -- an index by Author, by Title, by Subject and by Reel Number.  The Author and Subject Indexes provide a full bibliographic citation to the document.  The title and reel number indexes provide a brief entry cross-referenced to the fuller citations.

Other ways to find documents

As many of these documents are in the public domain (not limited by copyright), freely available digitized collections such as Google Books and HathiTrust may provide Internet access to reproductions.  Use the subject section of the index to identify potential resources and search online for the document. 

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617