Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Libraries Strategic Planning 2014-2016: Goal 3: New Services

Goal 3: Build new services around emerging areas

 

  1. Begin creating a library of strategic influence documents that will direct the incoming administration regarding library goals and needs.
    1. Update the Minerva Center plan to reflect the work of the last 5 years and to accommodate the potential variations on proposed library construction projects in 2014-2016.
    2. Gather data to support and then propose a hiring plan for coming years.
  2. Consider the need for and then develop a plan to reorganize around our current and expected staffing levels.
    1. Explore, clarify, and redefine the work and workload of each member of the library faculty.
    2. Define and affirm the value of mentorship, creativity, continual learning, innovation, and collaboration as a part of every staff member’s work.
  3. Fully implement, train for, and assess the current staffing model in Collection Building.
    1. Evaluate work assignments and daily workflow in combined ILL and Acquisitions roles.
    2. Continue evolving the role of the Shared Services ILL Specialist, inclusive of the relationship with SUNY Canton.
  4. Prioritize and reorganize ongoing and emerging Collection Development projects around the need to assess campus information needs, build an appropriate core collection, and increase efficiencies.
    1. Discuss and affirm our collection development policies in light of:
      1. our need to define and build a core collection for this institution,
      2. our participation in larger initiatives,
      3. changing patterns of electronic v print acquisitions,
      4. departmental needs and expectations,
    2. other emerging issues and demands, including the impact of the SUNY One Bib project. Design collection development funding models to meet necessary campus information needs and communicate funding needs to the Administration.
    3. Explore purchase on demand/patron-driven acquisitions models with a goal of implementing a service for the College Libraries.
  5. Redesign and reimplement our institutional repository to meet the needs of our undergraduate research population.
  6. Begin active advocacy for Open Access initiatives at SUNY Potsdam, focused on existing and emerging national, SUNY-wide, and SUNY Potsdam College Libraries initiatives.
  7. Plan for future project-scale digitization of local primary source materials and unique collections, including consideration of infrastructure, procedures, and skills training needed before implementation could be considered and begin.
  8. Explore the role of the Crane Library in our emerging Performing Arts landscape, including:
    1. the interdisciplinarity of Crane School-Performing Arts collaborations as the new Performing Arts Center opens,
    2. the interweaving of the Crane School and Liberal Arts courses of study,
    3. the potential need for media and technology literacy in the arts,
    4. the need for expanded services, resources, or infrastructure in Crane Library as more students inhabit the complex,
    5. the potential shift in expectations as new faculty and programs begin to see the Crane Library as “theirs.”
  9. Plan for future project-scale digitization of legacy format sound recordings to enhance use and access.
  10. Assess the services of the ITC in light of evolving campus initiatives for faculty development and build an appropriate plan to meet and support faculty needs.
  11. Explore the feasibility of expanding technology training for campus faculty and staff, in conjunction with existing College Libraries staffing and programs.
  12. Develop and implement a plan, including a sustainable budget, for unified large-format printing for Academic Affairs.

    Resource Dependent Action Items:
  13. Investigate the value of and advocate appropriately for emerging roles for the College Libraries.
    1. Design and build a media support center for students.
    2. Prioritize media creation assistance for faculty teaching online and traditionally delivered classes.
    3. Design and build a Makerspace to engage student creativity, entrepreneurship, and hands-on application of theoretical knowledge.
  14. Explore the possibility of implementing on-demand research services for faculty.
  15. Build a scholarship assistance lab for faculty engaged in research and creative endeavors.
  16. Consider and propose models to provide document delivery services to faculty to facilitate research and scholarship.
  17. Work with departments to ensure integration of appropriate Information Literacy instruction in department-level learning outcomes.
  18. Explore library research and information literacy engagement in emerging SUNY Potsdam initiatives such as STEAM and other high-impact educational experiences.
  19. Restart the successful Archives internships for students in Museum Studies and History, and develop two distinct tracks for the archives internship program, which focus on exhibits and on arrangement & description for their respective core foci.
  20. Investigate the feasibility and potential campus desire for additional measures that would help facilitate student use of archives, including but not limited to online tutorials and an archives-focused undergraduate course. 
  21. Consider participation in the Empire Shared Collections project, which creates a shared “last copy” repository that ensures members perpetual access to low-use legacy materials, and allows for deacessioning of local copies of those materials.
  22. Implement project-scale digitization of local primary source materials and unique collections.
  23. Implement project scale digitization of legacy format sound recordings.
  24. Implement long-term goals of the Crane Performance Database, including standardized online programs and streaming audio files linked to each performance record.
  25. Support the oral history projects begun by Drs. Heisey and Hersker, and Public Affairs, creating a deep and rich online-accessible primary source collection of SUNY Potsdam’s history.
  26. Investigate, pursue, and implement donor and grant opportunities to fund a project archivist position that will encompass the processing and digitization of the major composers of the Crane School of Music (beginning with Arthur Frackenpohl), the David O’Brien Martin papers, and the Bertrand Snell papers.
  27. Showcase libraries’ use of Moodle for student employee management as a campus best practice.
  28. Create online communications infrastructure to facilitate faculty-library discussion.
  29. Expand the technology lending program beyond current offerings, with structured upgrade budgets and plans in place to ensure long-term sustainability.
  30. Begin creating and converting finding aids in compliance with Describing Archives: A Content Standard (DACS) and Electronic Archival Description (EAD) standards.
  31. Upon implementation of EAD finding aids, create links that will allow researchers to view born-electronic records and digital representations directly from the finding aid.
  32. Develop and implement a workflow for the acquisition, preservation, and the accessibility of born-electronic records.
  33. As appropriate, approach significant campus offices to discuss the creation of record retention schedules that will help automate the transfer of vital records to the College Archives.
  34. Use the Archives Collection Development Policy and published SUNY retention schedule guidelines as basis for the identification of offices that are responsible for creation of vital college records.
  35. Survey photographic and film materials in order to determine the number of items that require cold storage for long-term preservation, and purchase equipment that can assist in the long-term preservation of important items, including but not limited to, a cold storage unit and a large-bed scanner.

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617