Teacher Education

For immediate assistance with Teacher Education resources, please contact Holly Chambers, chambehe@potsdam.edu.

Also consult General Resource for Online Teaching, which covers other important resources, e.g. textbooks available through library subscription databases.

Library Databases

Complete A-Z list of library databases
Library Databases tagged for Education

Search for an open educational resource

Open Textbook Collections

BC Open Textbooks
Two textbooks - Early Childhood Education and Literacy Education.
MERLOT
a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services.
The National Academies Press (NAP)
This resource provides textbooks on various education studies topics.
OER Commons
A curated collection of textbooks and resources for studies in Education.
Open Textbook Library
Browse a wide selection of textbooks on educational studies.

Courses and Videos

Early Education and Care: Core Competencies
From the University of Massachusetts, this course is designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.
Education & Teacher Training Courses - edX
EdX offers online education courses covering a broad range of topics from educational policy and history to curriculum design and teaching techniques. Explore case studies in teaching and learn about how technology is increasing access to quality education on an unprecedented scale.
Edutopia: Education Video Library
Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.
Films on Demand - Education
Browse Education related materials in Films on Demand. Use the drop down menu to limit to Curriculum and Instruction, Foundations, Psychology and Education, or Special Education.
First Year Teacher Program
The 10 modules include video segments featuring teachers using effective strategies and techniques in the classroom on subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.
Future Learn - Education
Take a course to learn how teachers can help close the gender gap and get guidance on helping girls achieve their potential with this free online course or take a course and learn how to be professionally involved in teaching, support and governing of higher education institutions.
Future Learn - Teaching Courses
Join online teaching courses to support teachers' professional learning and development. Enhance how you teach subjects such as English as a foreign language or STEM, or try new approaches to assessment, behaviour management or special needs provision.
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.
OpenLearn
Open Learn provides courses on education and development such as "Looking globally: the future of education", "Facilitating group discussions", "Play, learning and the brain", "Enhancing pupil learning on museum visits", and "Using visualisation in maths teaching."
Signing Savvy
Signing Savvy is a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs.
TED ED: Lessons Worth Sharing - Education
Create and share lessons around any TED-Ed original, TED Talk or YouTube Video
UC Irvine Open Courses
Help in preparing for the CSET subject tests. Also offered is a ”four-part webinar series specifically designed to help participants better understand and more effectively support gifted students both at home and in the classroom.”
YouTube EDU - Education
A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.
Coursera
Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.

Literacy

SLJ COVID-19 Publisher Information Directory
School Library Journal's list that tracks publishers' rules about posting video read-alouds, using/sharing materials, etc.
"Publishers with extended dates are highlighted in the table of contents with a * "
more...less...
Google Doc.

Internet Archive / Open Library

The Internet Archive and its Open Library project provide controlled digital lending access to copies of a substantial number of juvenile and young adult literature titles. (Note that the Internet Archive generally doesn't provide access to titles less than five years old.) Books can be borrowed for one hour or 14 days, depending on the number of copies stored in the IA physical collection. Borrowing a copy of a book requires signing up for an Internet Archive account. Access available for authorized print disabled patrons. Here are several ways to begin to explore what is available.

K-12 Student Library "a School Library designed for a K-12 audience"

General kid-friendly resources

1,000 Black Girl Books - currently 308 titles

Boston Public Library Jordan Collection - picture books, fiction, non-fiction, toy and moveable books from the infant to the teen level from the 19th century to the present day.

Marygrove College collection

New York Public Library curated list linked to Internet Archive books

Phillips Academy collection

Several publishers recently filed a lawsuit against the Internet Archive and their practice of controlled digital lending. See here for the Internet Archive's response.

Special Education

Future Learn - Special Education
Discover ways to make education more inclusive, especially in areas where resources are limited or take a course to understand more about autism, including diagnosis, the autistic spectrum and life with autism, with this online course.
HathiTrust
Useful for full text of materials out of copyright and many government documents. World wide but US emphasis.
Internet Archive: Digital Library - search on special ed
Anon-profit library of a large number of free books, audiovisual, and other materials. Includes some books (may be older editions) that can be borrowed online for a limited time.
Special Needs Education Textbook
It defines the concept of this type of education, identifies its different types, and discusses the concept of inclusive education and inclusive classroom management practices. From African Virtual University.

Help Us Select the Best Resources for this Discipline

Help us make this page better and send your favorite resources to chambehe@potsdam.edu.

Teaching Online - Discipline Specific Resources for Faculty