Teaching Online - Discipline Specific Resources for Faculty

The main purpose of this book is to explain certain physical considerations useful not only to a beginner learning how to play a musical instrument, but also to an accomplished musician trying to gain full technical mastery of an instrument.

The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s largest free index of digital resources for the study of music.

These TED Talks — from maestros, musical virtuosos and the occasional robot — take you into the world of creating and conducting music.

The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America. Radio has always offered the public free access to new music.

Most music theory books are like medieval medical textbooks: they contain unjustified superstition, non-reasoning, and funny symbols glorified by Latin phrases. How does music, in particular harmony, actually work, presented as a real, scientific theory of music?

This textbook is meant to support active student engagement with music in the theory classroom. That means that this text is meant to take a back seat to student music making (and breaking). It is not the center of the course.

Library of Congress provides a curated bank of music from past to present.

We believe learning should be as rich and varied as the world you're learning about. So with our community we're building a kind of multimedia wonderland of learning, where videos, audio, usage, mnemonics, etymologies and much more bring your learning to life.

Provides access to digital images for over 3,000 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.

2117 pieces of music – free to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses, in PDF, MIDI, and editable LilyPond file formats.

Sharing the world’s public domain music.

The MERLOT project began in 1997, when the California State University Center for Distributed Learning (CSU-CDL at www.cdl.edu) developed and provided free access to MERLOT (www.merlot.org). Under the leadership of Chuck Schneebeck, CSU-CDL's Director, MERLOT was modeled after the NSF funded project, "Authoring Tools and An Educational Object Economy (EOE)". Led by Dr. James Spohrer and hosted by Apple Computer, and other industry, university, and government collaborators, the EOE developed and distributed tools to enable the formation of communities engaged in building shared knowledge bases of learning materials.

Browse over 30,000 pieces of American popular music, dating as far back as 1780.

Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.

The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.

This course is an exposition of the philosophy, principles, and materials of music from the Baroque Period to contemporary period with illustrative examples from the Baroque Period, Classical Period, Romantic Period, Contemporary Classical Music and Popular Music. The course is designed to give the student an appreciation of music by exposing them to many musical styles, composers, historical trends, as well as increasing their aural, verbal and writing skills in describing music.