Teaching Online - Discipline Specific Resources for Faculty

Life on Earth is an iBooks Textbook consisting of 41 chapters in 7 separate units and can be downloaded for free from the iBooks Store.

Lumen Learning provides a Biology text with various chapters such as The Chemical Foundation of Life and Osmotic Regulation and the Excretory System.

Lumen Learning provides a Microbiology text with various chapters such as Cell Structure of Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukaryotes and Pathogenicity.

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

This is a great resource that provides textbooks on biology and life sciences.

OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for biological studies including zoology, botany and ecology.

Over thirty open textbooks covering Biology.

Browse a wide selection of textbooks on biological science topics.

Take free online biology courses in genetics, biotechnology, biochemistry, neurobiology and other disciplines. Courses include Fundamentals of Neuroscience from Harvard University, Molecular Biology from MIT and an Introduction to Bioethics from Georgetown.

Get an introduction to science-based skills through simple, exciting, hands-on physics, chemistry and biology experiments of get an introduction to the different components and systems in the body that keep us alive and healthy.

Learn how important animal viruses are transmitted between animals and humans, and understand the diseases they produce or become familiar with One Health, a promising concept, and the effective solutions it provides for urgent health problems.

Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) BioInteractive offers lectures on biology topics, such as; human evolution, genetics, and reporting scientific results, that range from 30-60 minutes.

Here you will find lecture videos and educational videos that are 1 min-30 min in length, related to a variety of topics: evolution and natural selection, cell division, heredity and genetics, tree of life, cellular respiration, photosynthesis, human biology, and immunology.

Online courses and lectures on a variety of biology topics.

Undergraduate and graduate level courses on a variety of biology topics, from ecology to neuroscience. Includes video lectures, course notes, and readings.

OLI is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach.

TED will link you with 5-25 min talks on Biology. You can browse by subject, length, or rating to inspire your students to learn more.

Biology Labs On-Line is an open access web site that offers a series of 12 interactive, inquiry-based biology simulations and exercises designed for college and AP high school biology students.

Classroom Explorations offers activities that will teach you about traits of life, microscopy, math in science, research tools, genetics, and developmental biology.

The LifeDiscoveryEd Digital Library is an online resource portal for biology education in ecology, plant biology and evolution.

Virtual Biology Lab is a free, online educational resource provided for educational purposes. VBL simulates natural environments with the way life responds to changing conditions.

Rutgers University offers lab exercises in cell structure, cell reproduction, and chromosome structure and meiosis. Students will work through the labs with step by step instructions.

This website offers interactive games that will teach students about the Scientific Method, Cholera, or the Pox Virus as if they were the scientist researching the disease.

XVIVOs award-winning animation studio creates compelling visual productions for pharmaceutical, medical device and biotech companies, advertising agencies, educational organizations, museums and broadcast companies. From script to screen, we provide custom education and communication services for every client.

Identifying native California plants using interactive distribution maps, keys, and photo guides.

Dichotomous key to California vascular plant families.

Interactive online and downloadable guides to grasses, legumes, gymnosperms, wetland monocots, and Ericaceae on a state by state basis.

Photo guide to the fungi of California.

Free access to a variety of texts on the flora of California.