Teaching Online - Discipline Specific Resources for Faculty

An educational resource for teaching and learning languages. Free materials for for many different languages.

OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for world language studies.

Project Gutenberg's list of Chinese books in the public domain that are available freely online.

Project Gutenberg's list of French books in the public domain that are available freely online.

Project Gutenberg's list of German books in the public domain that are available freely online.

Project Gutenberg's list of Spanish books in the public domain that are available freely online.

Learn a new language or start teaching yours to others. Join our online language and culture courses, which can be used for travel, business or pleasure.

Take free online language courses in English, French, Mandarin and more. Courses include English Grammar and Essay Writing from UC Berkeley, Chinese Language: Learn Basic Mandarin from MandarinX and Conversational English from Tsinghua University.

MIT Language students learn about French, Chinese, German and Spanish.

Open Learn provides a variety of free language courses for Chinese, French, Gaelic, German, Italian, Spanish, and Welsh.

TED ED series on playing with language lessons.

A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.

The Center for Applied Linguistics Collection contains 118 hours of recordings documenting North American English dialects. The recordings include speech samples, linguistic interviews, oral histories, conversations, and excerpts from public speeches.

Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages. Site is no longer updated, but most resources are still very useful.

Tr-ex.me is bilingual contextual dictionary, containing translations of various phrases. For each translation, we have examples of using in various sentences. The examples are taken from millions of texts previously translated ranging from dialogues(subtitles of film), and official documents to multilingual websites

The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education.

This site offers a collection of free interactive language learning resources for beginning Mandarin Chinese. Students now have the option to practice pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, listening, and reading skills at their own convenience.

The Library preserves and provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage you in your intellectual and creative endeavors. Whether you are new to the Library of Congress or an experienced researcher, we have a world-class staff ready to assist you online and in person.

LibriVox makes books in the public domain available, for free, in audio format on the internet.

Comprehensive resource for a wide range of languages. Search by language, proficiency level, and source language. Each language has a large number of resources.

The National Geographic online website and resource.

This collection features lessons in 48 languages, including Spanish, French, English, Mandarin, Italian, Russian and more. Download audio lessons to your computer or mp3 player and you're good to go.

SMaLL is the intersection of social media and web technology researchers and practitioners for the world language classroom. Share and review resources, tools, activities, and research projects in order to increase professional development and collaboration in this vital area.

List of resources (for mostly French, Spanish and German) compiled as part of a federally funded grant to identify open educational resources for World Language teachers in Maine.