Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Libraries Strategic Planning: Goal 2: Place

Goal 2: We will be creative stewards of facilities that support student learning, encourage collaboration among many constituents of our learning community, and are able to adapt to the changing needs of modern Higher Education.

Objective 2.1:  We will analyze stacks density/weeding needs and plan for the future of the collections in both libraries in anticipation of small- and large-scale renovation.

Near-term Projects:

  •  Review the original intentions for collection density in Crumb Library, the current state of collections, the projected growth of collections at current funding levels, and assess the collections needs of the facilities based on those data. Begun in earnest summer 2011, four individual collection plans being prepared for January 2012. Planning and assessment expected 2013 based on weeding in 2012. Initial shifting of collections to be completed summer 2013.
  • Review the original intentions for collection density in Crane Library, the current state of collections after removal of the Crane Overflow, the projected growth of collections at current funding levels, and assess the collections needs of the facilities based on those data. Done with completion of 2011 State of Crane Library report.

Long-term Projects:

  • Consider the future of legacy formats and closed stacks in the Crane Library, and develop a plan to transition these collections through the next five years.
  • Develop a five-year plan for allocation of space between users and stacks for each library, inclusive of proposed new initiatives and their space needs. Begun, summer 2011. Implementation of facets feasible without renovation are ongoing.
  • Implement weeding projects consistent with the mission and goals of the Libraries, with a focus on high-impact labor-efficient projects. Done.

Objective 2.2:  We will create a facilities transition plan for Crumb Library that logically leads to the creation of the Minerva Center, inclusive of renovations and reorganizations possible in the next five years assuming limited campus funding for facilities renovations outside of Capital funding.

Near-term Projects:

  • Investigate the desirability and feasibility of creating a 24-hour study space in Crumb Library. Plans under discussion at the campus level, and student opinion being gathered in Spring 2011.
  • Develop a plan to move LTEC and library classroom facilities to the basement (returning it to limited-use public space). Plan drafted; shelved pending further discussions at the campus level.
  • Assess the ADA compliance of Crumb and Crane Libraries, in both spirit and letter of the law, and draft recommendations to bring the facilities closer to ideal compliance. Done Spring 2011.

Long-term Projects:

  • Reorganize the Reference Area on the first floor. Phase 1 completed AY 2009-2010, further project planning ongoing Summer 2011. Collection redistribution plan to be produced January 2012. Shifting of stacks and furniture purchase expected, Fall 2013.
  • Investigate ways to return more of the 2nd floor space to user-centered rather than collection-centered tasks.  Brainstorming done; project shelved pending decisions about basement space use.

Objective 2.3: We will plan for the future of the Crane Library’s many unique spaces.

Near-term Projects:

  • Build a close relationship with the Crane School leadership to ensure Libraries’ plans are in alignment with overall goals and needs of the Crane School of Music students and faculty, particularly as the Crane School embarks on a strategic planning process of its own.  Ongoing and underway.
  • Assess the impact of the 2009 renovation of the entryway on user behavior, and use the lessons of that project to shape future changes.
  • Understand and plan for the relationship between the Crane Library and the Midi Lab.

Long-term Projects:
 

  • Develop a plan to change or refurbish the spaces currently occupied by Graduate study carrels, listening rooms, and storage spaces adjacent to the Midi Lab to ensure efficient and effective use of the space.
  • Purchase adequate quantities and appropriate types of furniture for the Crane Library. Begun Spring 2011 with planned refurbishment of Spurbeck Seminar Room, expected completion fall 2013.
  • Conduct a feasibility study of expanding the role of the Julia Crane Music Library to include a media center designed to enhance the connections between the Crane School, campus Performing Arts programs, and emerging communication technology literacies for all students.

Objective 2.4:  We will proudly and adequately house the College Archives.

Near-term Projects:

  • We will assess the space needs to appropriately store, preserve, and access the collections of the College Archives and Special Collections. Done, given space restrictions in Crumb.
  • We will assess the space needs to appropriately provide user access to the collections of the College Archives and Special Collections. Done, given space restrictions in Crumb.
  • We will assess the space needs of staff who undertake the complex work of managing the College Archives and Special Collections. Done, given space restrictions in Crumb.

Long-term projects:

  • We will develop a plan to provide appropriate space and facilities for the College Archives and Special Collections. Done, given space restrictions in Crumb.

Objective 2.5: We will develop advocacy goals for space use in the College Libraries

Long-term Projects:

  • Identify, describe, and prioritize future projects and necessary renovations based on plans developed by the libraries, including writing an update to the original Minerva Center proposal. Crumb Library plan written and shared with campus administration Spring 2011; verbal commitment to proceed offered by campus administration Winter 2012. Projected construction timeframe 2014-2015.
  • Share prioritized list of project needs with relevant campus constituents in support of and conjunction with campus Capital, Facilities, and Crane School planning.  Crumb Library plan written and shared with campus administration Spring 2011, and integration of Crumb needs into campus's 5 year plan was begun Summer 2011.

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617