Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Affiliated Organizations

United University Professions (Association: NY). Potsdam Chapter Records, 1971-2010

Collection Summary

United University Professions (Association: NY). Potsdam Chapter Records, 1971-2010

Collection Number: CA-30005
Collection Size: 0.7 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The United University Professions (Association: NY) Potsdam Chapter 1971-2010 records are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed.

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Institutional History

The United University Professions (UUP) is affiliated with other collective bargaining unions such as NYSUT, AFT, and NEA. The organization is a collective bargaining unit intended to represent the interests of SUNY faculty and professional staff. The Potsdam branch represents all UUP employees at SUNY Potsdam.

Scope and Content

The collection contains general information on the Potsdam UUP chapter including newsletters, promotional materials, chapter bylaws, and chapter communications relating to the activities between members of the chapter. There are materials regarding the development of the chapter with a focus on garnering membership among SUNY Potsdam Faculty and Staff. A highlighted topic in this collection is in regards to a proposed combination of a for-profit institution's curricula with SUNY Potsdam's distance education programs.

Series contains newsletters edited by Potsdam chapter members. Newsletters have information on various events and provide insight into the monthly ongoings of the chapter.

Series contains the chapter's bylaws and records relating to the development of the chapter's membership. Communications in this series include email conversations between UUP members. The printed publications materials were for promoting the goals and mission of the UUP. Series also has information on the chapter's advocacy programs and contains a folder on the debate over for-profit education at SUNY Potsdam.

Container Listing

Series 1.Chapter Newsletters
Box Folder Description Dates
1 1 Newsletters, 1971-1973
  2 Newsletters, 1973-1974
  3 Newsletters, 1974-1975
  4 Newsletters, 1975-1976
  5 Newsletters, 1976-1977
  6 Newsletters, 1977-1979
  7 Newsletters, 1979-1983
  8 Newsletters, 1984-1985
  9 Newsletters, 1986-1988
  10 Newsletters, 1989-1991
  11 Newsletters, 1992
  12 Newsletters, 1993-1995
  13 Newsletters, 1996-2010
Series 2.Chapter Operations
Box Folder Description Dates
2 13 Chapter Bylaws, 1992, 2004
  14 Chapter Development, 1996-2006
  15 Printed Publications Materials, 1999-2001
  16 Meeting Minutes and Agendas, 2000-2009
  17 Chapter Communications, 2001-2008
  18 Chapter Communications, 1998-2000
  19 Chapter Communications, 1991-1998
  20 Chapter Advocacy, 1995-1996
  21 Subject File - For-Profit Education, 1995-1996

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617