Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Academic Schools and Departments

Campus Learning Center (Campus School) Records, 1892-1994

Collection Summary

Campus Learning Center (Campus School) Records, 1892-1994

Collection Number: CA-12001
Collection Size: 4.90 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The Campus School records are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed, and divided into three series (1. History & Development, 2. Printed Materials, 3. Photographs & Scrapbooks).

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Institutional History

The Campus School began in the 1800s and was designed to provide training in a real school environment for SUNY Potsdam education students. Initially it was located in the Stowell Annex building in Potsdam, New York. Eventually it was relocated to Merritt Hall on Peirrepont Avenue campus of the college (1980s). As a result of budget problems, New York State began closing its campus schools. SUNY Potsdam’s was the last in the close, in May 1994.

Scope and Content

The bulk of the collection consists of photographs dating from the 1930s to the 1990s. Additional materials include yearbooks (1910 to 1994), commencement programs (1892-1894, 1912-1964), memos and reports, correspondence, and school directories and calendars, in addition to student publications.

Container Listing

 

Series 1. History & Development

Box Folder Description Dates
1 1 History & Development - Snell Complex -- Plans & Specifications, 1930
  2 History & Development, 1948-1959
  3 History & Development, 1960-1969
  4 History & Development, 1971-1972
  5 History & Development – The Research & Demonstration Center , 1973
  6 History & Development, 1974
  7 History & Development – Battle For Jobs, 1975
  8 History & Development – Battle For Jobs, 1975
  9 History & Development – Battle For Jobs, 1975
  10 History & Development – Battle For Jobs, 1975
2 1 History & Development – Threatened Closing & Reprieve From Extinction, 1976
  2 History & Development – Threatened Closing & Reprieve From Extinction, 1976
  3 History & Development, 1971
  4 History & Development – Move to Merritt, 1980
  5 History & Development, 1990s

Series 2. Printed Materials

Box Folder Description Dates
2 6 Printed Materials - Commencement Programs, 1892-1984, 1912-1964
  7 Printed Materials - Events, 1916-1976
  8 Printed Materials - Faculty & Staff, 1941-1965
  9 Printed Materials - Promotional, 1950-1983
  10 Printed Materials - Promotional, 1968-1969
3 1 Printed Materials - Students - "The Pathfinder," 1920-1921
  2-6 Printed Materials - Student - "The Eavesdropper," 1953-1976
  7 Printed Materials - Student - "The Writers' Notebook." 1986
4 1-3 Printed Materials - Yearbooks, 1909, 1938-1994

Series 3. Photographs & Scrapbooks,

Box Folder Description Dates
5   Scrapbook – The Children’s Library, 1931-1934
5   Photo Albums, 1948 - 1955
6   Photo Albums, 1950 -1969
7   Photo Albums, 1970 -1971
8   Photo Albums, 1971-1972
9   Photo Albums, 1972 - 1975
10   Photo Albums, 1979 -1992
11 1 Scrapbook – Yorker Club, 1974
11 2-4 Photographs – Classes, 1976 -1994
11 5 Photographs – Teachers, undated
11 6 Photographs – Activities/Special Events, 1950 -1900
11 7 Photographs – Bake Sale, 1986
11 8 Photographs – Playground Activities, undated
11 9-11 Photographs – Open Playground, circa 1970s
11 12-13 Photographs – Buildings, 1930s -1970s, undated
11 14 Photographs – Miscellaneous, undated

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617