Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives: Academic Schools and Departments

College Libraries Records, 1890-2013

Collection Summary

College Libraries Records, 1890-2013

Collection Number: CA-15000
Collection Size: 7.4 cubic feet

Access & Arrangement

The College Libraries Records are open to all users and available in the reading room of the SUNY Potsdam College Archives & Special Collections. The collection is currently minimally processed.

The researcher assumes full responsibility for observing all copyright, property, and libel laws as they apply. Questions concerning rights should be addressed to the College Archivist.

Organizational History

Dating back to St. Lawrence Academy era, the school's library has played a constant role in supporting education for the college community. Today the College Libraries include Frederick W. Crumb Library, Julia E. Crane Memorial Library, and the College Archives & Special Collections.

Scope and Content

The collection contains a wide array of material that represent that represent the role of the campus libraries from the late 19th century to the present.

Starting from 1962 this series contains various versions of college libraries' governing documents, including constitutions, by-laws, mission statements, and strategic plans.

The largest part of this series consists of Library Council minutes from 1964-2000. Additionally the series contains records related to policy and procedures for several library units.

This series contains files related to a variety of libraries' operations. Of potential interest are files related to library acquisitions dating back to the 19th century, library budgets, and two relocations of library materials to new buildings.

The series contains reports, evaluations, library statistics, and questionnaires and survey results. Some of the more notable reports include annual reports and evaluations for the The Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.

Dating from 1966 through 1992 the series consists of correspondence to and from the Director of Libraries and other individuals with libraries responsibilities.

The series contains various documents that give insight into the staffing of the college libraries, including organizational charts, staff listings, and files related to faculty status for librarians.

The bulk of this series consists of materials relating to the construction of the Crumb and Crane Memorial Libraries.

This series contains various printed materials issued on behalf of the College Libraries, including newsletters, brochures, resource guides, and various advertisements.

The most significant item in this series is a scrapbook documenting the 1954 relocation of the library from the Potsdam Normal School Building to it's new location off of Pierrepont Avenue. The series also contains instructional slides on various library resources.

The series consists of recordings of the library moves from 1954 and 1967, as well as a promotional video from 1991.

Container Listing

Series 1. Governing Documents
Box Folder Description Dates
1 1 Constitution and By-Laws, 1962-1992
  2 Mission Statement, 1977-1993
  3 Standards, Objectives, and Goals, 1975, 1982
  4 Strategic Plans, 1988-1997
Series 2. Departments, Committees, and Other Group Records
Box Folder Description Dates
1 5 A.V. Committee, 1971-1972
  6 Acquisitions, 1978-1984
  7 Automation Committee, 1987-1995, undated
  8 By-Laws Committee, 1974
  9 Cataloging/Technical Services, 1969-1987
  10 Circulation, 1967-1978
  11 Clerical Advisory Committee, 1975-1976
  12 Collection Development, 1973-1990
  13 College Archives & Special Collections, 1969-1986
  14 Crane Music Library, 1967-1999
  15 Department Heads - Meeting Minutes, 1972-1974
  16 Information Services Sub-Committee on Library Collection Assessment, 1991-1997
  17 Interlibrary Loan, 1968-1986
  18 Laptop Circulation Working Group, circa 2005
  19 Library Council - Constitution, 1975
  20-31 Library Council - Minutes, 1964-1994
2 1-3 Library Council - Minutes, 1995-2000
  4 Library Services Committee, 1975-1977
  5 Library Website Subcomittee, 1997-1998
  6 Periodical Department, 1966-1992
  7 Physical Facilities Working Group, 2000-2004
  8 Planning Comittee, 1991-1993
  9 Priorities Committee, 1975-1991
  10-11 Reference, 1968-1991
  12 Space Committee, 1974, 1991
  13 Task Force on the Future of Technology at Potsdam College Libraries, 1980-1981
Series 3. Operations, Programs, & Project Files
Box Folder Description Dates
6   Acquisitions & Gifts - Accession Ledgers, 1890-1950
2 14 Acquisitions & Gifts - Bertrand Snell Papers, 1959-1965
  15 Acquisitions & Gifts - Canadian Annual Book Presentation, 1967
  16 Acquisitions & Gifts - Crumb Memorial Collection, 1970
  17 Acquisitions & Gifts - Dunn Estate Book Collection, 1978
  18 Acquisitions & Gifts - Miscellaneous, 1906-1968
  19 Budget - Memos, 1968-2006
  20-42 Budgets, 1947-1990
3 1 Campus School Library - Support, 1965-1971
  2 Curriculum Library, 1970-1971
  3 Disaster Plans, 1994
  4 Government Documents, 1968-1992
  5 Library Service Enhancement Program, 1976
  6 Library Move - "Operation Booklift," 1954
  7 Library Move - "Crumb Bookmove," 1967-1976
  8 Proposed Potsdam/Clarkson Libraries Merger, 1964
  9 Reclassification from Dewey to Library of Congress, 1967-1969
  10 Security, 1969-1987
  11 Website & Online Services, undated
Series 4. Assessment & Stats
Box Folder Description Dates
3 12 Annual Reports, 1968-2012
  13 Department Annual Reports, 1972-1994
  14-18 Quarterly Reports, 1985-1995
  19-20 Middle States Report Evaluations, 1960-1961
  21 Middle States Report Evaluations, 1991
  22-23 Library Manpower Study, 1968-1970
  24 Report of Faculty Senate Committee on Library Resources, 1971
  25 Miscellaneous Reports, 1968-1991
  26 Statistics - Academic Library Statistics (SUNY), 1967-1969
  27-38 Statistics - College Libraries, 1930-1968
4 1-15 Statistics - College Libraries, 1968-1997
  16 Questionnaires & Surveys - Circulation, 1967-1971
  17 Questionnaires & Surveys - Eastern European and Russian Studies, 1971-1972
  18 Questionnaires & Surveys - ILL Survey, 1981
  19 Questionnaires & Surveys - Library Facilities, 1961-1962
  20 Questionnaires & Surveys - Faculty and Students, 1970-1971
  21 Questionnaires & Surveys - New York State Historical Documents Survey, 1986
  22-23 Questionnaires & Surveys - Miscellaneous, 1949-1975
Series 5. Correspondence
Box Folder Description Dates
4 24 Director of Libraries, 1966-1977
  25 Miscellaneous, 1968-1972
  26 Miscellaneous, 1978-1992
Series 6. Libraries Faculty & Staff
Box Folder Description Dates
4 27 Organizational Charts and Overview, circa 1992-2009
  28 Comp Time Dispute, 1989
  29 Faculty Status of Librarians, 1967-1972
  30 News Releases, 1955-1976
  31 Personnel Policies, 1969-1994
  32 Staff Listings, 1965-1993
Series 7. Construction & Remodeling
Box Folder Description Dates
8 1 Crumb Energy Modifications, 1985
  2 Crumb Floor Plans, 1967-1987
  3-4 Crumb Library Furniture, 1966
  5 Liprary Space Review Study, 1991
  6 Lighting, 1983
  7 Technical Assistance Study, 1983
4 33 Crane Library, 1967-1970
  34 Crane Library Entryway Renovation, 2009
  35 Crumb Capital Construction Fund, 1970
  36 Crumb Library Basement, 1974-1991
Series 8. Printed Materials
Box Folder Description Dates
4 37 Advertisements - Informational, 1975-1992
  38 Advertisements - Programs and Events, 1976-2002
  39 Brochures, 2004, undated
  40 Promotional - Library Hours, 1967-1993
  41-43 Promotional - Library Manuals & Resource Information, 1964-1977
  44 Publications - Library Comments, 1961-1962
  45 Publications - Library Connection, 1989-2008
  46 Publications - Library Newsletters, 1970-1973
5 1-11 Publications - Library Newsletters, 1974-2000, 2011-2013
  12 Publications - Staff Bulleting, 1967
  13-17 Resources - Bibliographies, 1952-1972
  18 Resources - How To Guides, 1965-1992
  19 Resources - Periodical LIstings, 1962-1969
Series 9. Scrapbooks & Slides
Box Description Dates
6 Scrapbook - Operation Booklift, 1954
7 Slides - Card Catalog, undated
7 Slides - How to Find Periodical Articles, 1977
Series 10. Audio-Visual
Box Description Dates
7 Operation Booklift (DVD-R, VHS, 16-mm), 1954
7 Crumb Bookmove (DVD-R, 2" Quad) 1967
8 Crumb Library Promotional (VHS), 1991

Contact

Crumb Library: 315-267-2485
Crane Library: 315-267-2451

Text Us! (Mon-Fri, 10 - 4): 315-277-3730

Social Media

College Libraries

Home

SUNY Potsdam College Libraries
44 Pierrepont Ave
Potsdam, NY 13617